

THE PROVINCIAL COUNCIL ORDINANCE,

1861.

IN THE TWENTY-FIFTH YEAR OF THE REIGN OF HER MAJESTY QUEEN VICTORIA.

SESSION XIII., No. 57.

ANALYSIS.

Title.
Preamble.
1. Tuapeka District to elect two Members.
2. Town of Oamaru to elect one Member.
3. Maniototo to elect one Member.

 Members for Northern, Central, and Tokomairiro Districts to retain their seats.
 On completion of Electoral Roll for 1862elections may take place.

6. Short Title. Schedule.

AN ORDINANCE to establish three new Electoral Districts in the Province of Otago, and to define the boundaries of the districts affected thereby.

WHEREAS by an Act of the General Assembly of New Zealand, intituled "The Miners' Franchise Act, 1860," it is enacted that every man qualified as therein mentioned, and being the holder of a Miner's License, in any Gold Field constituted or to be constituted under the Gold Fields' Act, 1858-60, or any other Act for the time being in force for the management of Gold Fields, shall, if duly registered, be entitled to vote at the election of Members of the House of Representatives, of the Superintendent of the Province, and of the Members of the Provincial Council, for the electoral district or division and the Province, respectively, in which such gold field is situate. AND WHEREAS a Gold Field has been proclaimed in the Province of Otago, under the provisions of the above recited Act, called the Tuapeka

237

Gold Field, situate for the most part within the Tokomairiro Electoral District, and as to a small part thereof within the Central Electoral District. AND WHEREAS a great number of men qualified to be registered as electors under the provisions of the said recited Act, are resident within the limits of the said Gold Field, and it is therefore expedient that the said Gold Field should be constituted an Electoral District separate and apart from the said Tokomairiro and Central Electoral Districts: AND WHEREAS it is expedient that the Town of Oamaru situate in the Northern electoral district of the said Province should be formed into a separate electoral district. AND WHEREAS it is also expedient that a portion of the Northern, Central, and Tokomairiro districts should be formed into a separate electoral district.

BE IT THEREFORE ENACTED by the Superintendent of the Province of Otago, by and with the advice and consent of the Provincial Council thereof, as follows:—

Tuapeka District 1. The Tuapeka Gold Field shall be an Electoral District of the said to elect 2 members. Province, to be called the "Tuapeka Electoral District," and at every election after this Ordinance shall come into operation, the said district shall return two members to serve in the Provincial Council of the said Province, and the boundaries of the said District shall be those set forth in the Schedule hereto.

Town of Oamaru 2. The Town of Oamaru, situate in the Northern Electoral District, to elect 1 member as laid down in the Government Survey Map of the said Town, shall be an Electoral District of the said Province, and at every future election of Representatives to serve in the said Provincial Council the said district shall return one member.

Maniototo to elect 3. A portion of the Northern, Central, and Tokomairiro Electoral ^{1 member.} Districts shall be an Electoral District, to be called the Maniototo Electoral District, and shall, at every future Election of Representatives to serve in the said Provincial Council, return one Member; and the boundaries of the said District shall be those set forth in the said Schedule.

Members for Northern, Central, and mairiro Electoral Districts, shall be those respectively set forth in the Tokomairiro Districts to retain said Schedule, and the present representatives of the said Districts respectheir seats. tively shall retain their seats in the said Provincial Council, and at every future election of members to serve in the said Council, the same number of members shall be returned by the said Districts respectively as the said Districts are now entitled to return.

On completion of 5. At any time after the Electoral Roll for the said Districts for the Electoral Roll for the Superintendent of Electors' Act, 1858," it shall be lawful for the Superintendent of the Province of Otago to issue writs for the Election of Members, to serve as Representatives in the said Provincial Council for each of the Electoral Districts hereby constituted.

٤.

6. This Ordinance may be cited and referred to as "The Provincial Short Title. Council Ordinance, 1861."

Passed the Provincial Council this eighth day of November, One thousand eight hundred and sixty-one.

ALEX. RENNIE, Speaker.

ROBERT CHAPMAN, Clerk of Council.

Dunedin, 12th November, 1861.—I hereby declare that I reserve this Bill for the signification of the Governor's pleasure thereon.

> J. RICHARDSON, Superintendent of the Province of Otago.

SCHEDULE.

Tuapeka District.—Shall comprise all that area estimated to contain 187,000 acres, bounded on the North by the Watershed of the Waipori, with Lee and Traquhar streams extending from Lammerlaw to Maungatua; on the East by the boundary of the North Tokomairiro and West Taieri Hundreds; on the South by the south boundary of Run 54; on the West by the Tuapeka River to its junction, thence by an east and west line (true bearing) to the Watershed of the Tuapeka and Clutha, thence by that Watershed to Lammerlaw.

Maniototo District.—Comprises all that area being portions of Northern, Central, and Tokomairiro Districts, bounded on the North by Canterbury Province; on the East by the Otomatukau and its Western Branch, thence to Mount Ida, thence by Kyeburn and its Western Branch to the Taieri, thence by the Watershed of the Rock and Pillar Mountains to Lammerlaw, thence on the South to the Ranges to Mount Benger, thence by a direct line to the North point of Southland Province, thence by a direct line to the mouth of Charles Sound; on the West by the Ocean on the West Coast.

Northern District. — Comprises all that area bounded on the North by Canterbury Province; on the East by the Ocean and Western District; on the South-West by a straight line running in a North-north-westerly direction from the Trigonometrical station on Flag Staff Hill to the boundary of Maniototo District; and on the West by Maniototo District.

Central District.—Comprises all that area bounded on the North-east by Northern District; on the East by Western and Eastern Districts; on the South-east by the ocean; on the South-west by the Taieri and Waipori Rivers, Waipori Lake, Meggatburn, and the Tuapeka District; on the North-west by the Maniototo District.

Tokomairiro District.—Comprises all that area bounded on the North by Maniototo, Tuapeka, and Central Districts; on the South-east by the ocean; on the South-west by Clutha District and the Province of Southland.