## 1969/185



# THE WRECK DISTRICTS NOTICE 1969

PURSUANT to section 342 of the Shipping and Seamen Act 1952, the Minister of Marine hereby gives the following notice.

#### NOTICE

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This notice may be cited as the Wreck Districts Notice 1969.
  - (2) This notice shall come into force on the 1st day of October 1969.
- 2. Wreck districts—(1) The districts specified in the Schedule to this notice are hereby established as wreck districts for the purposes of Part IX of the Shipping and Seamen Act 1952.
- (2) For the purposes of this notice, every wreck district shall include—
  - (a) All cities, boroughs, and town districts that are within the outer boundaries of any county included in that wreck district or are bounded by any such county or are between any such county and the sea:
  - (b) All islands that are adjacent to that wreck district and do not form part of the district of any local authority:
  - (c) The waters of the territorial sea of New Zealand that are adjacent to that wreck district.
- (3) If any question arises as to the wreck district in which any island that does not form part of the district of any local authority is included or as to the wreck district in which any part of the territorial sea of New Zealand is included, that question shall be determined by the Secretary for Marine.
- 3. Receivers of Wreck—The persons for the time being holding the offices specified in the third column of the Schedule to this notice are hereby appointed to be Receivers of Wreck and are hereby assigned to the respective wreck districts specified in the first column of that Schedule.

4. Revocation—The notice by the Minister in charge of the Marine Department dated the 9th day of September 1881 appointing districts and Receivers of Wreck\* is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE Wreck Districts and Receivers of Wreck

Wreck Districts	Counties or Road District	Receiver of Wreck
Northland	The Counties of Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Hobson, Whangarei, and Otamatea, and Kermadec Islands	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Whangarei.
Auckland	The Counties of Rodney, Waitemata, Great Barrier Island, Franklin, Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata, Coromandel, Thames, Hauraki Plains, Piako, Ohinemuri, Otorohanga, Wai- tomo, Taumarunui, Tauranga, Whakatane, Opotiki, Rotorua, Taupo, Waiapu, Waikohu, and Cook, and the Waiheke Road District	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Auckland.
Wellington	The Counties of Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Dannevirke, Waipukurau, Patangata, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Manawatu, Oroua, Kairanga, Horowhenua, Woodville, Pahiatua, Akitio, Eketahuna, Masterton, Wairarapa South, Featherston, Hutt, Waitotara, Waimarino, Wanganui, Rangitikei, Patea, Clifton, Taranaki, Egmont, Inglewood, Stratford, Eltham, Waimate West, and Hawera	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Wellington.
Marlborough	The Counties of Marlborough, Awatere, and Kaikoura	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine,
Golden Bay	The Counties of Golden Bay and Waimea	Picton. Superintendent of Mercantile Marine Nelson.
Westland	The Counties of Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Westport.
Canterbury	The Counties of Amuri, Cheviot, Waipara, Ashley, Rangiora, Oxford, Eyre, Malvern, Paparua, Ellesmere, Ashburton, Akaroa, Heathcote, Waimairi, Mount Herbert, Wairewa, Geraldine, Levels, Waimate, MacKenzie, and Waitaki	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Lyttelton.
Chatham Islands	The County of Chatham Islands	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Chatham Islands.
Otago	The Counties of Vincent, Maniototo, Waihemo, Waikouaiti, Taieri, Tuapeka, Bruce, Clutha, and Lake	Superintendent of Mercantile Marine, Dunedin.

<sup>\*</sup>Gazette, 1881, Vol. II, p. 1182

### SCHEDULE—continued

### WRECK DISTRICTS AND RECEIVERS OF WRECK-continued

Wreck Districts	Counties or Road District	Receiver of Wreck
Southland	The Counties of Fiord, Wallace, Southland, and Stewart Island, and Snares Islands, Antipodes Islands, Bounty Islands, Auck- land Islands, and Campbell Island	

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of September 1969.

W. J. SCOTT, Minister of Marine.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 11 September 1969. This notice is administered in the Marine Department.