

THE WELLINGTON AREA HEALTH DISTRICT ORDER 1989

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 1st day of May 1989

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) and subsections (3) and (4) of section 8 of the Area Health Boards Act 1983, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Minister of Health tendered at the request of the Wellington Hospital Board, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Wellington Area Health District Order 1989.
- **2. Establishment of Wellington Area Health District**—The Wellington Hospital District shall, on the 1st day of June 1989, become an area health district under the name of the Wellington Area Health District.
- **3. Number of representatives of constituent districts**—The number of representatives on the Wellington Area Health Board (established by section 6 (1) of the Area Health Boards Act 1983 for the Wellington Area Health District) of each constituent district within the Wellington Area Health District (not being a constituent district to which clause 4 of this order applies) shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.

- **4. Combined districts**—(1) For the purpose of the election of representatives on the Wellington Area Health Board,—
 - (a) Waikanae Community and Kapiti Borough; and
 - (b) Porirua City and Tawa Borough; and
- (c) Lower Hutt City, Eastbourne Borough, and Petone Borough—are hereby combined into combined districts.
- (2) The number of members to be elected in common as the representatives of each such combined district shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.
- 5. Principal local authorities—Where 2 or more constituent districts are combined into a combined district by clause 4 of this order, the Council of that one of them after whose name in the Schedule to this order the expression "(P)" is placed is hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authority of that combined district for the purpose of the conduct of elections within that district.

SCHEDULE Cls. 3, 4 (2), 5 REPRESENTATION OF CONSTITUENT DISTRICTS OR COMBINED DISTRICTS ON WELLINGTON AREA HEALTH BOARD

Constituent Districts or Combined Districts	Number of Representatives
Wellington City Wainuiomata District Upper Hutt City	6 1 1
Waikanae Community Kapiti Borough (P)	1
Porirua City (P) Tawa Borough	2
Lower Hutt City (P) Eastbourne Borough Petone Borough	3

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order declares that the Wellington Hospital District shall, on 1 June 1989, become an area health district under the name of the Wellington Area Health District.

The order combines Waikanae Community and Kapiti Borough, and Porirua City and Tawa

The order combines Waikanae Community and Kapiti Borough, and Porirua City and Tawa Borough, and Lower Hutt City, Eastbourne Borough, and Petone Borough, into combined districts. The number of representatives of each combined district, and of Wellington City, Wainuiomata District, and Upper Hutt City, on the Wellington Area Health Board, is set out in the Schedule to the order.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 4 May 1989. This order is administered in the Department of Health.