

Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu (Declaration of Membership) Order 2001

Silvia Cartwright, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 30th day of July 2001

Present:

The Right Hon Helen Clark presiding in Council

Pursuant to section 10 of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, and on the recommendation of the Minister of Maori Affairs on advice from Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu, makes the following order.

Contents

1 Title

- 2 Commencement
- 3 Declaration as to papatipu runanga

and their takiwa

4 Schedule supersedes First Schedule of Act Schedule Papatipu runanga of Ngai Tahu whanui and their respective takiwa

Order

1 Title

This order is Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu (Declaration of Membership) Order 2001.

2 Commencement

This order comes into force on 31 August 2001.

3 Declaration as to papatipu runanga and their takiwa The papatipu runanga of Ngai Tahu whanui and their respective takiwa, as at the date of commencement of this order, are set out in the Schedule.

4 Schedule supersedes First Schedule of Act The Schedule supersedes the First Schedule of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996.

cl 3 Schedule Papatipu runanga of Ngai Tahu whanui and their respective takiwa

Papatipu runanga	Takiwa
Te Runanga o Kaikoura	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Kaikoura centres on Takahanga and extends from Te Parinui o Whiti to the Hurunui River and inland to the Main Divide.
Te Ngai Tuahuriri Runanga	The takiwa of Te Ngai Tuahuriri Runanga centres on Tuahiwi and extends from the Hurunui to Hakatere, sharing an interest with Arowhenua Runanga northwards to Rakaia, and thence inland to the Main Divide.
Rapaki Runanga	The takiwa of Rapaki Runanga centres on Rapaki and includes the catchment of Whakaraupo and Te Kaituna.
Te Runanga o Koukourarata	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Koukourarata centres on Koukourarata and extends from Pohatu Pa to the shores of Te Waihora including Te Kaituna.
Wairewa Runanga	The takiwa of Wairewa Runanga centres on Wairewa and the catchment of the lake Te Wairewa and the hills and coast to the adjoining takiwa of Koukourarata, Onuku Runanga, and Taumutu Runanga.
Te Runanga o Onuku	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Onuku centres on Onuku and the hills and coasts of Akaroa to the adjoining takiwa of Te Runanga o Koukourarata and Wairewa Runanga.
Taumutu Runanga	The takiwa of Taumutu Runanga centres on Taumutu and the waters of Te Waihora and adjoining lands and shares a common interest with Te Ngai Tuahuriri Runanga and Te Runanga o Arowhenua in the area south to Hakatere.
Te Runanga o Arowhenua	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Arowhenua centres on Arowhenua and extends from Rakaia to Waitaki, sharing interests with Ngai Tuahuriri ki Kaiapoi between Hakatere and Rakaia, and thence inland to Aoraki and the Main Divide.
Te Runanga o Waihao	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Waihao centres on Wainono, sharing interests with Te Runanga o Arowhenua to Waitaki, and extends inland to Omarama and the Main Divide.
Te Runanga o Moeraki	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Moeraki centres on Moeraki and extends from Waitaki to Waihemo and inland to the Main Divide
Kati Huirapa ki Puketeraki	The takiwa of Kati Huirapa ki Puketeraki centres on Karitane and extends from Waihemo to Purehurehu and includes an interest in Otepoti and the greater harbour of Otakou. The takiwa extends inland to the Main Divide sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains to Whakatipu-Waitai with Runanga to the south.

Papatipu runanga Te Runanga o Otakou	Takiwa The takiwa of Te Runanga o Otakou centres on Otakou and extends from Purehurehu to Te Matau and inland, sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains to the western coast with Runanga to the North and to the South.
Waihopai Runaka	The takiwa of Waihopai Runaka centres on Waihopai and extends northwards to Te Matau sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains to the western coast with other Murihiku Runanga and those located from Waihemo southwards.
Te Runanga o Awarua	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Awarua centres on Awarua and extends to the coasts and estuaries adjoining Waihopai sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains between Whakatipu-Waitai and Tawhititarere with other Murihiku Runanga and those located from Waihemo southwards.
Te Runanga o Oraka Aparima	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Oraka Aparima centres on Oraka and extends from Waimatuku to Tawhititarere sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains from Whakatipu-Waitai to Tawhititarere with other Murihiku Runanga and those located from Waihemo southwards.
Hokonui Runaka	The takiwa of Hokonui Runaka centres on the Hokonui region and includes a shared interest in the lakes and mountains between Whakatipu- Waitai and Tawhitarere with other Murihiku Runanga and those located from Waihemo southwards.
Te Runanga o Makaawhio	The takiwa of Te Runanga o Makaawhio is centred at Makaawhio and extends from the south bank of the Pouerua River to Piopiotahi and inland to the Main Divide together with a shared interest with Te Runaka o Kati Waewae in the area situated between the north bank of the Pouerua River and the south bank of the Hokitika River.
Te Runaka o Kati Waewae	The takiwa of Te Runaka o Kati Waewae is centred on Arahura and Hokitika and extends from the north bank of the Hokitika River to Kahuraki and inland to the Main Divide together with a shared interest with Te Runanga o Makaawhio in the area situated between the north bank of the Pouerua River and the south bank of the Hokitika River.

Marie Shroff, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

The names and takiwa of the Papatipu Runanga of Ngai Tahu Whanui are specified in the First Schedule of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996. This order amends the First Schedule of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996 by changing the reference to Te Runanga o Te Koeti Turanga to Te Runanga o Makaawhio, and by amending the description of the respective takiwa of Te Runanga o Makaawhio and Te Runaka o Kati Waewae.

This order comes into force on 31 August 2001.

Date of notification in Gazette: 2 August 2001.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989.

This order is administered in Te Puni Kokiri.