

Reprint under section 7 of the Regulations Act 1936 of the Timber Production Advisory Committee Regulations 1949 (S.R. 1949/46), as amended by the following enactments:

Timber Production Advisory Committee Regulations 1949, Amendment No. 1, S.R. 1950/30 (Revoked by Act 1951, No. 79, s. 10 (2))
Fees and Travelling Allowances Act 1951, s. 10 (2)
Timber Production Advisory Committee Regulations 1949, Amendment No. 2, S.R. 1952/83.

TIMBER PRODUCTION ADVISORY COMMITTEE REGULATIONS 1949 (REPRINT)

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 6th day of April 1949

Present:

THE RIGHT HON, P. FRASER PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 6 of the Forests Amendment Act 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, doth hereby make the following regulations.

The Forests Amendment Act 1948 has been repealed and replaced by the Forests Act 1949. S. 72 of the latter Act corresponds to s. 6 of the former Act.

REGULATIONS

- 1. These regulations may be cited as the Timber Production Advisory Committee Regulations 1949.
- 2. These regulations shall come into force on the day after notification in the Gazette of the making thereof.
 - 3. In these regulations, unless the context otherwise requires,—
 - "Committee" means the Timber Production Advisory Committee: "Government representative" means a member of the Committee appointed under paragraph (c) of subclause (1) of regulation 5 of these regulations:

"Minister" means [the Minister of Forests].

"Minister": The reference to the Minister of Forests was substituted for a reference to the Commissioner of State Forests by s. 3 (3) of the Forests Act 1949.

- 4. There shall be an advisory committee, which shall be known as the Timber Production Advisory Committee.
 - 5. (1) The Committee shall consist of—
 - (a) [The Minister of Forests], who shall be the Chairman of the Committee:
 - (b) [The Director-General of Forests] who shall be the Deputy Chairman of the Committee:
 - (c) Three persons to be appointed by the Minister who shall be officers of [the New Zealand Forest Service], Department of Labour and Employment, and Ministry of Works respectively:
 - (d) Two persons to be appointed by the Minister to represent the [Dominion Sawmillers' Federation, (Incorporated)] and the West Coast Sawmillers Association respectively:
 - (e) Two persons to be appointed by the Minister to represent the New Zealand Timber Workers' Industrial Union of Workers:
 - (f) One person to be appointed by the Minister to represent the Nelson, Westland, and Marlborough Timber Industry Employees' Industrial Union of Workers:
 - (g) One person to be appointed by the Minister to represent the New Zealand Timber Merchants' Federation:
 - [(h) One person to be appointed by the Minister to represent the Dominion Forest Owners' Federation (Incorporated):
 - (i) One person to be appointed by the Minister to represent Maori forest owners.]
- (2) The Minister shall appoint the representatives mentioned in paragraphs (d), (e), (f), [(g), and (h)] of the last preceding subclause from a panel nominated by each of the organisations to be represented.
- (3) The powers of the Committee shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof.

In subclause (1) (a) the reference to the Minister of Forests was substituted for a reference to the Commissioner of State Forests by s. 3 (3) of the Forests Act 1949.

In subclause (1) (b) the reference to the Director-General of Forests was substituted for a reference to the Director of Forestry by s. 2 (4) of the Forests Amendment Act 1960.

In subclause (1) (c) the reference to the New Zealand Forest Service was substituted for a reference to the State Forest Service by s. 5 (2) of the Forests Act 1949.

In subclause (1) (d) the reference to the Dominion Sawmillers' Federation, (Incorporated) was substituted for a reference to the Dominion Federated Sawmillers' Association (Incorporated) by regulation 3 of S.R. 1952/83.

In subclause (1), paras. (h) and (i) were added by regulation 2 of

S.R. 1952/83.

- In subclause (2) the words in square brackets were substituted for the words "and (g)" by regulation 4 of S.R. 1952/83.
- 6. All persons appointed to the Committee as Government representatives shall hold office during the pleasure of the Minister, and all other persons appointed by the Minister to the Committee shall, subject to these regulations, hold office for a period of one year, and shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 7. The office of an appointed member of the Committee shall become vacant, and the vacancy shall be deemed to be a casual vacancy if the member-

- (a) Resigns his office by writing under his hand delivered to the Chairman of the Committee; or
- (b) Dies or becomes of unsound mind.
- 8. Every casual vacancy in the office of an appointed member of the Committee shall be filled by the appointment by the Minister, in accordance with subclause (2) of regulation 5 hereof, of some fit person to the Committee for the residue of the term of the retiring member.

Meetings

- 9. The Committee shall meet at such places and at such times as the Chairman from time to time appoints.
- 10. The Chairman shall preside at all meetings of the Committee at which he is present. In the absence of the Chairman from any meeting, the Deputy Chairman shall act in his place, and while so acting shall be deemed Chairman of the Committee. In the absence of both the Chairman and Deputy Chairman from any meeting of the Committee any member of the Committee may be appointed by the Chairman to act as Chairman of the Committee, and while so acting shall be deemed Chairman of the Committee.
- 11. If any member of the Committee is unable to attend any meeting of the Committee, he may, by writing under his hand or by telegram to the Chairman of the Committee, appoint any person to attend the meeting in his stead, and that person while so attending shall be deemed to be a member of the Committee.

Functions

12. The general functions of the Committee shall be to advise [the Minister of Forests] with respect to the organisation and more efficient working of the timber industry in relation to the production of timber.

The reference to the Minister of Forests was substituted for a reference to the Commissioner of State Forests by s. 3 (3) of the Forests Act 1949.

Travelling Allowances

13,14. Revoked by s. 10 (2) of the Fees and Travelling Allowances Act 1951 (regulation 13 having been substituted by regulation 4 of S.R. 1950/30).

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Certified for the purposes of section 7 of the Regulations Act 1936, this 22nd day of March 1967.

J. R. HANAN, Attorney-General.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification of principal regulations in *Gazette*: 13 April 1949. These regulations are administered in the New Zealand Forest Service.