1968/130



THE TARANAKI HOSPITAL DISTRICT ORDER 1968

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 23rd day of July 1968

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. KEITH HOLYOAKE, C.H., PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Hospitals Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Taranaki Hospital District Order 1968.
- (2) Part I of this order shall come into force on the 11th day of October 1968, and Part II shall come into force on the 14th day of October 1968.
 - 2. Interpretation—In this order—
 - "The Act" means the Hospitals Act 1957:
 - "Board" means the Board of the Taranaki Hospital District constituted by clause 4 of this order.

PART I—TARANAKI HOSPITAL DISTRICT

- 3. Abolition of Hawera, Stratford, and Taranaki Hospital Districts— The hospital districts of Hawera, Stratford, and Taranaki are hereby abolished.
- 4. New Taranaki Hospital District constituted—There is hereby constituted a new hospital district under the name of "The Taranaki Hospital District". The district shall comprise the whole of the area included in the hospital districts abolished by clause 3 of this order.
- 5. Election of the members of the new Board—The first election of the members of the Board shall be held on the 12th day of October 1968.
- 6. Consequential amendment to First Schedule of the Hospitals Act 1957—The First Schedule to the Act is hereby consequentially amended by omitting items 15 to 17, and substituting the following item:

"15. Taranaki Hospital District

Clifton, Taranaki, Egmont, Inglewood, Stratford, Hawera, Waimate West, Eltham."

PART II—COMMITTEES OF MANAGEMENT IN THE RECONSTRUCTED DISTRICT

- 7. Establishment of Hawera Hospital Committee Area—(1) Pursuant to section 58 of the Act, there is hereby declared to be a hospital committee area under the name of "The Hawera Hospital Committee Area", which shall comprise the constituent districts of the County of Hawera, the County of Eltham, the Borough of Eltham, the Borough of Hawera, the County of Waimate West, and the Town District of Manaia.
- (2) A hospital committee is hereby established for the management of institutions in the area, consisting of the following number of mem-

bers:

- (a) The member or members of the Board who, pursuant to section 58 (3) (b) of the Act, are members of the committee by virtue of their membership of the Board.
- (b) Five other members to be appointed in accordance with subclause (3) of this clause to represent the constituent districts of the area.
- (3) The said constituent districts shall be represented on the committee as follows:

(a) The Hawera County Council shall appoint one representative:

(b) The County of Eltham and the Borough of Eltham are hereby declared to be a combined district for the purpose of representation, and that district shall have one representative who shall be appointed by the Eltham County Council after consultation with the Eltham Borough Council:

(c) The Hawera Borough Council shall appoint two representatives:

- (d) The County of Waimate West and the Town District of Manaia are hereby declared to be a combined district for the purpose of representation, and that district shall have one representative who shall be appointed by the Waimate West County Council after consultation with the Manaia Town Council.
- 8. Establishment of Stratford Hospital Committee Area—(1) Pursuant to section 58 of the Act, there is hereby established a hospital committee area under the name of "The Stratford Hospital Committee Area" which shall comprise the constituent districts of the County of Stratford and the Borough of Stratford.

(2) A hospital committee is hereby established for the management of the institutions in the area, consisting of the following number of

members:

- (a) The member or members of the Board who, pursuant to section 58 (3) (b) of the Act, are members of the committee by virtue of their membership of the Board:
- (b) Four other members to be appointed in accordance with subclause (3) of this clause to represent the constituent districts of the area.
- (3) The said constituent districts shall be represented on the committee as follows:
 - (a) The Stratford County Council shall appoint two representatives:
 - (b) The Stratford Borough Council shall appoint two representatives.

9. Committees to have certain powers of Board—(1) Each hospital committee established under this order shall, subject to the direction of the Taranaki Hospital Board, have the general management and supervision of every institution in its area, and in particular shall have in respect of every such institution the following powers of the Board:

(a) The power to inquire into complaints on behalf of inmates and to deal with any such complaint or determine whether or not

it should be referred to the Board:

- (b) The power to appoint and dismiss hospital domestic staff, laundry staff, porters, gardeners, and such other staff as the Board may authorise the committee to appoint and dismiss; but, except with the prior approval of the Minister of Health, the committee shall not be authorised to appoint and dismiss medical practitioners, nurses (of any description), laboratory workers, pharmacists, radiographers, physiotherapists, dietitians, occupational therapists, secretarial and clerical staff, orthopaedic technicians, or other professional or technical staff directly employed in the relief, care, or treatment of inmates:
- (c) The power to suspend any employee for misconduct, but the suspension and the circumstances surrounding it shall immediately

be reported to the Board.

- (2) In the exercise of any of its powers, each such committee shall observe and comply with any statutory conditions or restrictions for the time being applicable to similar powers exercisable by a Hospital Board.
- 10. Proceedings of committees, etc.—Subject to the provisions of section 58 of the Hospitals Act 1957 and of this order, the constitution and proceedings of the committees established under this order, the mode of appointment and tenure of office of the members of each such committee, and the procedure for the filling of vacancies thereon, shall be such as are prescribed in Part IV of the Hospital Boards and Committees of Management Regulations 1959.*

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

*S.R. 1959/130 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1967/144 Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1967/227

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order provides for the abolition of the Hawera, Stratford, and Taranaki Hospital Districts, and for the establishment of a new hospital district comprising the abolished districts under the name "The Taranaki Hospital District".

The order also provides for the establishment of the Hawera Hospital Committee Area and the Stratford Hospital Committee Area.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in Gazette: 25 July 1968. This order is administered in the Department of Health.