1966/121



THE TAURANGA HARBOUR BOARD ORDER 1966

BERNARD FERGUSSON, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 11th day of July 1966

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. KEITH HOLYOAKE, C.H., PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Commission Act 1961, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. This order may be cited as the Tauranga Harbour Board Order 1966.

2. The Tauranga Harbour District constituted by section 4 of the Tauranga Harbour Amendment and Foreshore Vesting Act 1917 (as substituted by section 4 of the Tauranga Harbour Board Loan and Empowering Act 1956) shall hereafter comprise the area described in the First Schedule to this order.

3. (1) Subject to the provisions of clause 4 of this order, the Tauranga Harbour Board (hereinafter referred to as the Board) shall consist of 13 elected members, to be elected as follows:

- (a) Two by the electors of the City of Tauranga:
- (b) One by the electors of the Borough of Mount Maunganui:
- (c) Two by the electors of the Borough of Te Puke and of the County of Tauranga:
- (d) Two by the electors of the City of Rotorua:
- (e) Two by the electors of the County of Rotorua:
- (f) One by the electors of the Borough of Kawerau and of the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane:
- (g) Three by the electors of the Boroughs of Matamata and Putaruru and of the County of Matamata.

(2) The first election of members of the Board as constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall be held on the day prescribed by law for the first triennial general election of members of Harbour Boards held after the date of the commencement of this order.

4. (1) Until the members of the Board elected at that election come into office, the Board shall consist of 14 members, as follows:

- (a) Ten members elected by the electors specified in relation to the Board in the First Schedule to the Harbours Act 1950 (as substituted by section 20 (1) of the Harbours Amendment Act 1959):
- (b) One member appointed by the Kawerau Borough Council:
- (c) Two members appointed by the Matamata County Council:
- (d) One member appointed by the Matamata and Putaruru Borough Councils.

(2) The persons who were members of the Board immediately before the commencement of this order shall continue in office as members of the Board under paragraph (a) of subclause (1) of this clause after the commencement of this order, and shall hold office, unless they sooner vacate office pursuant to the provisions of any enactment, until the members of the Board elected at the first triennial general election of members of the Board held after the commencement of this order come into office.

5. No rateable property situated in the area described in the Second Schedule to this order, being an area that immediately before the date of the commencement of this order did not form part of the Tauranga Harbour District (as constituted immediately before that date)—

- (a) Shall be liable as security for the repayment of any loan which immediately before that date constituted a liability of the Board or of any loan raised by the Board after that date for the renewal or conversion of any such first-mentioned loan; or
- (b) Be liable for any special rates that after that date may be made and levied by the Board, or may be directed by the Board to be made and levied, in respect of any such loan.

6. All revenue of the Board for any year which is available for the servicing of loans shall be applied by the Board—

- (a) First, in payment of all annual charges payable during that year in respect of loans raised before the date of the commencement of this order, and of loans raised by the Board after that date for the renewal or conversion of any such first-mentioned loans or any part thereof:
- (b) Second, as to any surplus after making the payments specified in paragraph (a) of this clause, in payment of the annual charges payable during that year in respect of other loans raised by the Board after that date.

$S\,C\,H \to D\,U\,L \to S$

FIRST SCHEDULE

ALL that area comprised within the boundaries of the Counties of Matamata, Rotorua, and Tauranga, the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane, the Cities of Rotorua and Tauranga, and the Boroughs of Kawerau, Matamata, Mount Maunganui, Putaruru, and Te Puke.

SECOND SCHEDULE

ALL that area comprised within the boundaries of the County of Matamata, the Boroughs of Matamata and Putaruru, and that part of the Borough of Kawerau lying to the east of the left bank of the Tarawera River.

> T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 14 July 1966. These regulations are administered in the Department of Internal Affairs.