1993/163



# THE TARIFF (LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES AND LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES) ORDER 1993

# CATHERINE A. TIZARD, Governor-General

## ORDER IN COUNCIL

## At Wellington this 8th day of June 1993

Present:

## HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 7 of the Tariff Act 1988, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

## ORDER

**1. Title and commencement**—(1) This order may be cited as the Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1993.

(2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of August 1993.

**2. Less developed countries**—Each of the countries named in the First Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

**3. Least developed countries**—Each of the countries named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a least developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

4. Countries ceasing to be less developed countries—Each of the countries named in the Third Schedule to this order shall, on the coming

into force of this order, cease to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

5. Revocations—The orders specified in the Fourth Schedule to this order are hereby consequentially revoked.

## **SCHEDULES**

Cl. 2

FIRST SCHEDULE Less Developed Countries

LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES		
	Albania	Guyana
	Algeria	Honduras
	Angola	Hungary
	Anguilla	India
	Antigua and Barbuda	Indonesia
	Argentina	Iran, Islamic Republic of
	Bahrain	Iraq
	Barbados	Ivory Coast
	Belize	Jamaica
	Bolivia	Jordan
	Bosnia-Herzegovina, Republic of	Kenya
	Brazil	Korea, Republic of
	British Indian Ocean Territory	Lebanon
	British Virgin Islands	Liberia
	Bulgaria	Macau
	Cameroon	Macedonia, the former Yugoslav
	Cayman Islands	Republic of
	Chile	Malaysia
	China, People's Republic of	Malta
	Christmas Island	Mauritius
	Cocos (Keeling) Islands	Mexico
	Colombia	Mongolia
	Congo	Montserrat
	Costa Rica	Morocco
	Croatia, Republic of	Nicaragua
	Cuba	Nigeria
	Cyprus	Norfolk Island
	Czech Republic	Oman
	Dominica	Pakistan
	Dominican Republic	Palau
	Ecuador	Panama
	Egypt	Papua New Guinea
	El Salvador	Paraguay
	Falkland Islands (Malvinas)	Peru
	Fiji	Philippines
	Gabon	Pitcairn Islands
	Ghana	Poland
	Gibraltar	Romania
	Grenada	St. Helena
	Guatemala	St. Kitts—Nevis

2330

## FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

#### LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES—continued

St. Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Sloveak Republic Slovenia, Republic of Socialist Peoples Libyan Great Jamahirya (Libya) Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic

## Taiwan (Province of China) Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turks and Caicos Islands U.S. Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay Venezuela Vietnam Wallis and Futuna Islands Zimbabwe

# SECOND SCHEDULE

LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Malawi Afghanistan Bangladesh Maldives Benin Mali Mauritania Bhutan Micronesia, Federated States of Botswana Burkina Faso Mozambique Burundi Myanmar Cambodia Namibia Cape Verde Nepal Central African Republic Niger Chad Rwanda Comoros, Islamic Federal Sao Tome and Principe Sierra Leone Republic of Solomon Islands Djibouti Equatorial Guinea Somalia Ethiopia Sudan Gambia Togo Guinea, Revolutionary People's Tuvalu Republic of Uganda Guinea—Bissau Tanzania, United Republic of Haiti Vanuatu Western Samoa Kiribati Lao, People's Democratic Yemen Arab Republic **Republic** of Yemen Democratic Republic Zaire Lesotho Zambia Madagascar

Cl. 3

Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed 1993/163 Countries) Order 1993

## Cl. 4

# THIRD SCHEDULE

COUNTRIES CEASING TO BE LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Czech and Slovak Federal Republic Kampuchea Madagascar Micronesia, Federated States of Mozambique

Myanmar Solomon Islands Zaire Zambia.

## Cl. 5

# FOURTH SCHEDULE **ORDERS REVOKED**

Title	Statutory Regulations Serial Number
The Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1989 The Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1989, Amendment	1989/146
Developed Countries) Order 1989, Amendment No. 1	1990/123
No. 2	1990/228
The Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1989, Amendment No. 3	1991/89
The Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1989, Amendment No. 4	1992/278

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

2332

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 1 August 1993, specifies the countries that qualify for Less Developed Countries Preference (LDC) and Least Developed Countries Preference (LLDC) in the Tariff.

This order differs from the existing order in that-

- (a) It declares the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic (previously one republic known as the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic) to be less developed countries for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988; and
- (b) It declares Cambodia (previously known as Kampuchea), Madagascar, the Federated States of Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Solomon Islands, Zaire, and Zambia to be least developed countries for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 10 June 1993. This order is administered in the Ministry of Commerce.