1989/146

546



THE TARIFF (LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES AND LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES) ORDER 1989

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 29th day of May 1989

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. G. W. R. PALMER PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 7 of the Tariff Act 1988, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following Order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Tariff (Less Developed Countries and Least Developed Countries) Order 1989.

(2) This Order shall come into force on the 1st day of July 1989.

2. Less Developed Countries—(1) Each of the countries named in the First Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

(2) On the coming into force of this order, Israel shall cease to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

3. Least Developed Countries—Each of the countries named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a least developed country for the purposes of the Tariff Act 1988.

4. Revocation—The Less Developed Countries and the Least Developed Countries Tariff Order 1987* is hereby consequentially revoked.

*S.R. 1987/892

SCHEDULES

FIRST SCHEDULE Less Developed Countries

Albania Algeria Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Barbados Belize Bolivia Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Bulgaria Burma Cameroon Cayman Islands Chile China, People's Republic of Christmas Islands Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Congo Costa Rica Cuba Cyprus Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Fiji Gabon Ghana Gibraltar Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ivory Coast Jamaica Jordan Kampuchea

Kenya Korea, Republic of Lebanon Liberia Macau Madagascar Malaysia Malta Mauritius Mexico Mongolia Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Nicaragua Nigeria Norfolk Island Pacific Island Trust Territory Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Romania St. Helena St. Kitts-Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines Senegal Seychelles Solomon Islands Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan (Province of China) Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turks and Caicos Islands U.S. Misc. Pacific Islands Uruguay Venezuela

FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES—continued

Vietnam Wallis and Futuna Islands Yugoslavia Zaire Zambia Zimbabwe

SECOND SCHEDULE LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Afghanistan Bangladesh Benin Bhutan Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Comoros, Islamic Federal Republic of Djibouti Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Gambia Guinea, Revolutionary People's **Republic** of Guinea-Bissau Haiti Kiribati Lao, People's Democratic Republic

Lesotho Malawi Maldives Mali Mauritania Nepal Niger Rwanda Western Samoa Sao Tome and Principe Sierra Leone Somalia Sudan Togo Tuvalu Uganda United Republic of Tanzania Vanuatu Yemen Arab Republic Yemen Democratic Republic

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the Order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 1 July 1989, specifies the countries that qualify for Less Developed Countries Preference (LDC) and Least Developed Countries Preference (LLDC) in the Tariff.

Israél ceases to be a Less Developed Country and, as from 1 July 1989, will no longer qualify for preferential treatment.

¹ Trinidad and Tobago have been reinstated to the list of Less Developed Countries and, as from 1 July 1989, will qualify for preferential treatment.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 1 June 1989. This order is administered in the Ministry of Commerce.