1955/47



THE SALES TAX DISTRICTS ORDER 1955

Pursuant to the Sales Tax Act 1932-33, the Minister of Customs hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. (1) This order may be cited as the Sales Tax Districts Order 1955.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of May 1955.
- 2. (1) The districts specified in the Schedule hereto are hereby appointed to be districts for the purpose of collecting sales tax.
- (2) Each of those districts shall comprise the counties specified in that behalf in the Schedule hereto, together with all boroughs and town districts which are within the outer boundaries of those counties or are bounded by those counties or are between those counties or any part thereof and the sea.
- 3. The place for the payment of sales tax in each of those districts shall be the place specified in that behalf in the Schedule hereto:

Provided that where goods liable to sales tax under paragraph (c) of subsection (1) of section 11 of the Sales Tax Act 1932–33 (being goods imported into New Zealand and entered for home consumption under the Customs Act 1913 otherwise than by a licensed wholesaler for sale by him) are imported by post and are entered for home consumption, or deemed to be so entered, at any post office, sales tax shall be payable at that post office.

4. The Sales Tax Districts Order 1952* is hereby revoked.

*S.R. 1952/219.

SCHEDULE DISTRICTS AND PLACES FOR PAYMENT OF SALES TAX

District		Counties	Place for Payment of Sales Tax
Auckland		Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Hobson, Whangarei, Otamatea, Rodney, Waitemata, Eden, Manukau, Franklin, Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata, Taupo, Coromandel, Thames, Hauraki Plains, Piako, Ohinemuri, Matakaoa, Great Barrier Island, Otorohanga, Kawhia, Waitomo, Taumarunui, Kaitieke	Customhouse, Auckland.
Tauranga		Tauranga, Whakatane, Opotiki, Rotorua	Customhouse, Tauranga.
Gisborne		Waiapu, Waikohu, Cook, Uawa	Customhouse, Gisborne.
Napier		Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Danne- virke, Waipukurau, Patangata, Weber	Customhouse, Napier.
Wellington	•••••	Manawatu, Oroua, Kairanga, Horo- whenua, Woodville, Pahiatua, Akitio, Eketahuna, Masterton, Castlepoint, Mauriceville, Wairarapa South, Feath- erston, Hutt, Makara	Customhouse, Wellington.
Wanganui		Waitotara, Waimarino, Wanganui, Rangi- tikei, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Patea	Customhouse, Wanganui.
New Plymou	ıth	Clifton, Taranaki, Egmont, Inglewood, Stratford, Eltham, Whangamomona, Waimate West, Ohura, Hawera	Customhouse, New Plymouth.
Blenheim		Sounds, Marlborough, Awatere, Kaikoura	Customhouse, Blenheim.
Nelson		Collingwood, Takaka, Waimea	Customhouse, Nelson.
Greymouth		Buller, Murchison, Inangahua, Grey, West- land	Customhouse, Greymouth.
Christch urch		Amuri, Cheviot, Waipara, Tawera, Ashley, Kowai, Rangiora, Oxford, Eyre, Sel- wyn, Malvern, Paparua, Springs, Elles- mere, Ashburton, Akaroa, Heathcote, Waimairi, Mount Herbert, Wairewa, Halswell, Chatham Islands	Customhouse, Christchurch.
Timaru		Geraldine, Levels, Waimate, Mackenzie	Customhouse, Timaru.
Oamaru		Waitaki	Customhouse, Oamaru.
Dunedin		Vincent, Maniototo, Waihemo, Waikou- aiti, Taieri, Peninsula, Tuapeka, Bruce, Clutha	Customhouse, Dunedin.
Invercargill		Lake, Fiord, Wallace, Southland, Stewart Island	Customhouse, Invercargill.

Dated at Wellington, this 1st day of April 1955.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Customs.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

[This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.]

This order replaces the Sales Tax Districts Order 1952.

The only change is that, as a consequence of the appointment of a Tauranga District, the order provides for the inclusion in that district, as from the beginning of May 1955, of the Tauranga, Whakatane, Opotiki, and Rotorua Counties, which were previously included in the Auckland District.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 14 April 1955. These regulations are administered in the Customs Department.