1971/234



THE SOCIAL SECURITY (DENTAL BENEFITS) REGULATIONS 1960, AMENDMENT NO. 5

ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 8th day of November 1971

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. SIR KEITH HOLYOAKE, G.G.M.G., C.H., PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Social Security Act 1964, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following regulations.

REGULATIONS

- 1. Title—These regulations may be cited as the Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960, Amendment No. 5, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960* (hereinafter referred to as the principal regulations).
- 2. Redefining Dental Districts—(1) The principal regulations are hereby amended by revoking so much of the First Schedule (as substituted by regulation 2 of the Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960, Amendment No. 3) as relates to the Auckland North Dental District and the Auckland South Dental District, and substituting the following:

"AUCKLAND NORTH DENTAL DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Waitemata and the boroughs or town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of that county, including the City of Takapuna and the Boroughs of East Coast Bays, Birkenhead, Devonport, Northcote, Glen Eden, Henderson, and New Lynn.

*S.R. 1960/125 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1962/34 Amendment No. 2: (Revoked by S.R. 1970/144) Amendment No. 3: S.R. 1970/144 Amendment No. 4: S.R. 1971/130

"AUCKLAND CENTRAL DENTAL DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Great Barrier Island and Waiheke, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of those counties, including the City of Auckland and the Boroughs of Mount Eden, Mount Albert, Newmarket, One Tree Hill, Ellerslie, Onehunga, Mount Roskill, and Mount Wellington.

"AUCKLAND SOUTH DENTAL DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Franklin and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of that county, including the Cities of Manukau and Papatoetoe and the Boroughs of Howick, Otahuhu, Pukekohe, Papakura, Tuakau, and Waiuku."

(2) Regulation 3 of the principal regulations (as amended by regulation 2 of the Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960, Amendment No. 1) is hereby further amended by omitting the word "thirteen", and substituting the word "fourteen".

(3) The Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960, Amend-

ment No. 1, are hereby consequentially revoked.

3. Amending dental fees—The Second Schedule to the principal regulations (as substituted by regulation 3 of the Social Security (Dental Benefits) Regulations 1960, Amendment No. 3) is hereby amended by omitting from paragraph (b) of the item "Root-canal treatment" the expression "\$6.25", and substituting the expression "\$10.00".

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

Regulation 2 reconstitutes the Auckland North and the Auckland South Dental Districts into 3 districts, namely, the Auckland North, the Auckland Central, and the Auckland South Dental Districts.

Regulation 3 increases the benefit payable in respect of the treatment and

filling of septic root canals from \$6.25 to \$10.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in Gazette: 11 November 1971.

These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.