1969/235



THE SOCIAL SECURITY (RURAL AREA) NOTICE 1969

PURSUANT to section 94A of the Social Security Act 1964, the Minister of Health hereby gives the following notice.

NOTICE

1. This notice may be cited as the Social Security (Rural Area) Notice 1969.

2. The Health Districts referred to in clause 3 of this notice are the Health Districts named and described in the Health Districts Order 1960*.

3. For the purposes of section 94A of the Social Security Act 1964, the following areas are declared to be rural areas:

- (a) All those parts of the Whangarei Health District not comprised in the city of Whangarei:
- (b) All those parts of the Takapuna Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Birkenhead, Devonport, East Coast Bays, Glen Eden, Henderson, New Lynn, or Northcote, or the city of Takapuna, or the county towns of Glenfield, Titirangi, Green Bay, or Kelston West:
- (c) All those parts of the Auckland Health District not comprised in the city of Auckland, or the boroughs of Ellerslie, Mount Albert, Mount Eden, Mount Roskill, Mount Wellington, Newmarket, Onehunga, or One Tree Hill:
- (d) All those parts of the South Auckland Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Howick, Otahuhu, Papakura, or Pukekohe, or the cities of Manukau or Papatoetoe:
- (e) All those parts of the Hamilton Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Cambridge, Huntly, Te Awamutu, or Thames, or the city of Hamilton, or the county town of Tokoroa:
- (f) All those parts of the Rotorua Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Kawerau, Mount Maunganui, Taupo, or Whakatane, or the cities of Rotorua or Tauranga, or the county town of Ngongotaha:
- (g) All those parts of the Gisborne Health District not comprised in the city of Gisborne or the borough of Wairoa:
- (h) All those parts of the New Plymouth Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Hawera or Stratford, or the city of New Plymouth, or the county town of Oakura:

*S.R. 1960/38 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1961/166 Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1962/213 Amendment No. 3: S.R. 1969/166

- (i) All those parts of the Napier Health District not comprised in the cities of Hastings or Napier, or the borough of Havelock North:
- (j) All those parts of the Wanganui Health District not comprised in the city of Wanganui, or the county towns of Otamatea or Putiki:
- (k) All those parts of the Palmerston North Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Dannevirke, Feilding, or Levin, or the city of Palmerston North:
- (1) All those parts of the Hutt Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Eastbourne, Masterton, or Petone, or the cities of Lower Hutt or Upper Hutt, or the county towns of Paraparaumu, Wainuiomata, Plimmerton-Paremata, or Heretaunga-Pinehaven:
- (m) All those parts of the Nelson Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Blenheim, or Richmond, or the city of Nelson:
- (n) All those parts of the Greymouth Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Greymouth or Westport or the county town of Karoro:
- (o) All those parts of the Christchurch Health District not comprised in the city of Christchurch, or the counties of Heathcote, Paparua, or Waimairi, or the boroughs of Kaiapoi, Lyttelton, Rangiora, or Riccarton:
- (p) All those parts of the Timaru Health District not comprised in the boroughs of Ashburton or Oamaru, or the city of Timaru:
- (r) All those parts of the Dunedin Health District not comprised in the city of Dunedin, or the boroughs of Green Island, Mosgiel, Port Chalmers, or St Kilda, or the county towns of Fairfield, Brighton, or Waldronville:
- (s) All those parts of the Invercargill Health District not comprised in the borough of Gore or the city of Invercargill.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of October 1969.

D. N. McKAY, Minister of Health.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the notice, but is intended to indicate its general effect. This notice declares certain areas to be rural areas for the purpose of the payment of rural practice bonuses to medical practitioners.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 20 November 1969. This notice is administered in the Department of Health.