

Student Loan Scheme (Charitable Organisations) Regulations 2006

Silvia Cartwright, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 27th day of March 2006

Present:

Her Excellency the Governor-General in Council

Pursuant to section 87 of the Student Loan Scheme Act 1992, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, makes the following regulations.

Contents

		Page
1	Title	1
2	Commencement	2
3	Charitable organisations for purposes of section	2
	38AE(1)(b) of Student Loan Scheme Act 1992	
	Schedule	2
	Charitable organisations for purposes of section	
	38AE(1)(b) of Student Loan Scheme Act 1992	

Regulations

1 Title

These regulations are the Student Loan Scheme (Charitable Organisations) Regulations 2006.

2 Commencement

These regulations come into force on 1 April 2006.

3 Charitable organisations for purposes of section 38AE(1)(b) of Student Loan Scheme Act 1992

- (1) The organisations set out in the Schedule are charitable organisations for the purposes of section 38AE(1)(b) of the Student Loan Scheme Act 1992.
- (2) A reference to an organisation in the Schedule includes that organisation's international, national, and regional branches, offices, sections, organisations, affiliates, members, associations, and programmes, if any.

Charitable organisations for purposes of section 38AE(1)(b) of Student Loan Scheme Act 1992

Adventist Development and Relief Agency International (ADRA)

Alay Buhay Foundation Trust

Amnesty International

ANCOP Foundation International Inc

Anglican Social Services (Hutt Valley) Trust Board

Caritas Internationalis

ChildFund International

Christian Blind Mission International (CBMI)

Christian World Service (CWS)

CORSO Incorporated

Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières

ECPAT International

Habitat for Humanity International

Hibiscus Coast East Timor Appeal Trust (HETA Trust)

IHC New Zealand Incorporated

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies

IN Network

International Save the Children Alliance

Mahitahi Catholic Overseas Volunteer Trust

Mobility Equipment for the Needs of Disabled Trust (MEND)

New Zealand Family Planning Association Incorporated

New Zealand Vietnam Health Trust

Oxfam International

Pax Christi International

RedR International

Richmond Fellowship International (RFI)

Rotary International

Soroptimist International

SurfAid International

Te Ora Hou Aotearoa Incorporated

TEAR Fund

The Cambodia Trust

The Foundation for Peace Studies Aotearoa/New Zealand Incorporated (The Peace Foundation)

The Fred Hollows Foundation

The Leprosy Mission International (TLM)

The Salvation Army International

The UMMA Trust

The Volunteer Ophthalmic Services Overseas Charitable Trust (VOSO)

Trade Aid New Zealand Inc

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)

Vietnam Cambodia and Laos Support Network (VICALSN)

Vision Pacific Charitable Trust

Volunteer Service Abroad Inc

World Vision International

WWF

World Young Women's Christian Association (World YWCA)

Rebecca Kitteridge, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which come into force on 1 April 2006, list charitable organisations for the purposes of section 38AE(1)(b) of the Student Loan Scheme Act 1992. Under that section, a student loan borrower who was personally absent from New Zealand because he or she was working as a volunteer or for token payment

for a charitable organisation named in these regulations may be granted an exemption by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue entitling that borrower to a full interest write-off.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989.

Date of notification in Gazette: 30 March 2006.

These regulations are administered in the Inland Revenue Department.