

# THE OTAGO AREA HEALTH DISTRICT ORDER 1988

# PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

## ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 30th day of May 1988

# Present:

THE RIGHT HON. DAVID LANGE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) and subsections (2) and (3) of section 8 of the Area Health Boards Act 1983, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Minister of Health tendered at the request of the Otago Hospital Board, the Maniototo Hospital Board, the Vincent Hospital Board, and the Waitaki Hospital Board, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### **ORDER**

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Otago Area Health District Order 1988.
- 2. Establishment of Otago Area Health District.—The Maniototo Hospital District, the Otago Hospital District, the Vincent Hospital District, and the Waitaki Hospital District shall, on the 1st day of July 1988, become an area health district under the name of the Otago Area Health District.
- **3. Number of representatives of constituent districts**—The number of representatives on the Otago Area Health Board (established by section 6 (1) of the Area Health Boards Act 1983 for the Otago Area Health District) of each constituent district within the area health district (other than a constituent district to which clause 4 of this order applies) shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.

- **4. Combined districts**—For the purpose of the election of representatives of the Otago Area Health Board,—
  - (a) Dunedin City, St. Kilda Borough, Green Island Borough, and Port Chalmers Borough; and
  - (b) Silverpeaks County and Waihemo County; and
  - (c) Tuapeka County, Lawrence Borough, Roxburgh Borough, and Tapanui Borough; and
  - (d) Waitaki County and Oamaru Borough; and
  - (e) Vincent County, Alexandra Borough, and Cromwell Borough; and
- (f) Maniototo County and Naseby Borough,—are hereby combined into combined districts.
- 5. Principal local authorities—Where 2 or more constituent districts are combined into a combined district by clause 4 of this order, the Council of that one of them after whose name in the Schedule to this order the expression "(P)" is placed is hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authority of that combined district for the purpose of the conduct of elections within that district.

Clauses 3, 4, and 5 SCHEDULE
REPRESENTATION OF CONSTITUENT DISTRICTS AND COMBINED DISTRICTS ON OTAGO AREA HEALTH BOARD

Constituent District or Combined district  Dunedin City (P)		Number of Representatives
Green Island Borough	<u> </u>	3
Port Chalmers Borough	J	
Silverpeaks County (P)	1	1
Waihemo County	<u> </u>	1
Mosgiel Borough	•	1
Tuapeka County (P)	)	
Lawrence Borough	(	1
Roxburgh Borough	ſ	1
Tapanui Borough	J	
Waitaki County	)	3
Oamaru Borough (P)	<b>S</b>	3
Vincent County (P)	)	
Alexandra Borough	}	2
Cromwell Borough	J	
Maniototo County (P)	)	1
Naseby Borough	<b>f</b>	1

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

The order declares that the Maniototo Hospital District, the Otago Hospital District, the Vincent Hospital District, and the Waitaki Hospital District shall, on 1 July 1988, become an area health district under the name of the Otago Area Health District.

The number of representatives on the Otago Area Health Board of each constituent district and of each combined district is specified in the Schedule to the order.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 2 June 1988. This order is administered in the Department of Health.