1998/222



THE NEW ZEALAND COUNCIL FOR EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH (ELECTORAL COLLEGE) ORDER 1993

CATHERINE A. TIZARD, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 28th day of June 1993

Present:

HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 21(2) of New Zealand Council for Educational Research Act 1972, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, and on the recommendation of the Minister of Education, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the New Zealand Council for Educational Research (Electoral College) Order 1993. (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of August 1993.

2. People entitled to have their names enrolled on roll of electoral college—The following people, holders of particular offices, and people nominated by the specified bodies or holders of particular offices, are entitled to have their names enrolled on the roll of the electoral college:

- (1)(2)Clarence Edward Beeby, former director of the Council:
- Ian David Livingstone, former director of the Council:
- John Elliott Watson, former director of the Council: (3)

- (4) Russell Ballard, former Director-General of Education:
- (5) William Leslie Renwick, former Director-General of Education:
- (6) Keith John Sheen, former Director-General of Education:
- (7) Each chairperson or head of a department, faculty, or school of education at a university in New Zealand:
- (8) The chief executive of every State College of Education in New Zealand:
- (9) The chief executive of the Ministry of Education:
- (10) The chief executive of the New Zealand Qualifications Authority:
- (11) The chief executive of the Education Review Office:
- (12) The general manager of the Career Development and Transition Education Service:
- (13) The chief executive of the Special Education Service:
- (14) The general manager of the Education and Training Support Agency:
- (15) The chief executive of the Early Childhood Development Unit:
- (16) The chief executive of the Teacher Registration Board:
- (17) One person nominated by the Academic Board of each State University in New Zealand:
- (18) One person nominated by the Association of University Staff of New Zealand Inc.:
- (19) One person nominated by the Association of Staff in Tertiary Education:
- (20) One person nominated by Te Matawhanui (the Maori University Kaimahi Association):
- (21) One person nominated by each Institute of Educational Research established pursuant to section 33 (1) (f) of the New Zealand Council for Educational Research Act 1972:
- (22) One person nominated by the Independent Schools Council:
- (23) One person nominated by Community Learning Aotearoa/New Zealand:
- (24) One person nominated by the executive committee of the New Zealand Association for Research in Education:
- (25) One person nominated by the New Zealand Maori Council:
- (26) One person nominated by the Maori Women's Welfare League Inc.:
- (27) One person nominated by the Te Kohanga Reo National Trust Inc.:
- (28) One person nominated by the Maori Language Commission:
- (29) One person nominated by Te Puni Kokiri:
- (30) Two people nominated by the New Zealand Association of Community and Continuing Education:
- (31) Three people nominated by the executive committee of the Combined Early Childhood Union of Aotearoa:
- (32) Three people nominated by the Federation of Early Childhood Education Organisations:
- (33) Six people nominated by the executive committee of the New Zealand Educational Institute:
- (34) Six people nominated by the executive committee of the New Zealand Post Primary Teachers Association:
- (35) Six people nominated by the New Zealand School Trustees Association Inc.:
- (36) Not more than 8 chief executives of polytechnics, nominated by the executive committee of the Association of Polytechnics of New Zealand.

1993/222

3. Changes of name—Every reference in clause 2 of this order to a body that, after the commencement of this order, changes its name shall be read as a reference to that body under its name for the time being.

DIANE WILDERSPIN, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect. This order, which comes into force on 1 August 1993, prescribes the membership of the electoral college for the New Zealand Council for Educational Research.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 1 July 1993. This order is administered in the Ministry of Education.