

# **NURSES AMENDMENT REGULATIONS 1999**

# MICHAEL HARDIE BOYS, Governor-General

# ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 6th day of September 1999

#### Present:

THE RIGHT HON JENNY SHIPLEY PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 60 of the Nurses Act 1977, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Minister of Health given after consultation by that Minister with the Nursing Council of New Zealand, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, makes the following regulations.

ANALYSIS

1. Title and commencement
2. New schedules substituted
3. Revocations

ANALYSIS

SCHEDULE
New Schedules Substituted

#### REGULATIONS

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) These regulations may be cited as the Nurses Amendment Regulations 1999, and are part of the Nurses Regulations 1986\* ("the principal regulations").
  - (2) These regulations come into force on 7 October 1999.
- **2. New schedules substituted**—The principal regulations are amended by revoking the First, Second, and Eighth Schedules, and substituting the First, Second, and Eighth Schedules set out in the Schedule of these regulations.
- **3. Revocations**—Regulation 3 and the Schedule of the Nurses Regulations 1986, Amendment No. 5 are consequentially revoked.

\*S.R. 1986/159
Amendment No. 1: (Revoked by S.R. 1990/338)
Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1990/108
Amendment No. 3: S.R. 1990/338
Amendment No. 4: S.R. 1991/66
Amendment No. 5: S.R. 1995/240
Amendment 1997: S.R. 1997/13

Reg. 2

## SCHEDULE

## NEW SCHEDULES SUBSTITUTED

# "FIRST SCHEDULE

Reg. 3

INSTITUTIONS AT WHICH COURSE IN COMPREHENSIVE NURSING CONDUCTED Auckland Institute of Technology

Christchurch Polytechnic

Eastern Institute of Technology

Manawatu Polytechnic

Manukau Institute of Technology

Massey University

Nelson Polytechnic

Northland Polytechnic

Otago Polytechnic

Southland Polytechnic

Taranaki Polytechnic

Unitec: Institute of Technology

University of Auckland

Waiariki Institute of Technology

Waikato Polytechnic

Whitireia Community Polytechnic

## SCHEDULE—continued

### NEW SCHEDULES SUBSTITUTED—continued

Reg. 4

# "SECOND SCHEDULE

INSTITUTIONS AT WHICH COURSE IN MIDWIFERY CONDUCTED

Auckland Institute of Technology

Christchurch Polytechnic

Massey University

Otago Polytechnic

Waikato Polytechnic

Regs. 3 (2) (a), 3 (3) (a), 3 (4) (a)

# "EIGHTH SCHEDULE

INSTITUTIONS AT WHICH NURSING COURSES CONDUCTED FOR PERSONS REGISTERED AS GENERAL NURSES, GENERAL AND OBSTETRIC NURSES, AND PSYCHIATRIC OR PSYCHOPAEDIC NURSES AND WHO ARE SEEKING REGISTRATION AS A COMPREHENSIVE NURSE

Auckland Institute of Technology

Christchurch Polytechnic

Eastern Institute of Technology

Manawatu Polytechnic

Manukau Institute of Technology

Massey University

Nelson Polytechnic

Northland Polytechnic

Otago Polytechnic

Southland Polytechnic

Taranaki Polytechnic

Unitec: Institute of Technology

University of Auckland

Waiariki Institute of Technology

Waikato Polytechnic

Whitireia Community Polytechnic"

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which come into force on 7 October 1999, amend the Nurses Regulations 1986—

- (a) By updating, in the First, Second, and Eighth Schedules (which list institutions at which certain nursing courses and midwifery courses are conducted), references to the following institutions:
  - (i) Hawke's Bay Polytechnic (now known as the Eastern Institute of Technology):
  - (ii) Unitec (now known as Unitec: Institute of Technology):
  - (iii) Waiariki Polytechnic (now known as Waiariki Institute of Technology):
  - (iv) Wellington Polytechnic (now known as Massey University); and
- (b) By inserting in the First and Eighth Schedules references to the University of Auckland.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 9 September 1999. These regulations are administered in the Ministry of Health.