1993/249



THE MAORI TRUST BOARDS REGULATIONS 1985, AMENDMENT NO. 6

THOMAS EICHELBAUM, Administrator of the Government

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 26th day of July 1993

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE GOVERNMENT IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 56 of the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following regulations.

REGULATIONS

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) These regulations may be cited as the Maori Trust Boards Regulations 1985, Amendment No. 6, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Maori Trust Boards Regulations 1985* (hereinafter referred to as the principal regulations).
- (2) These regulations shall come into force on the 27th day of August 1993.
- 2. First Schedule amended—The First Schedule to the principal regulations is hereby amended by inserting, after the item relating to the

*S.R. 1985/258 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1987/264 Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1989/81 Amendment No. 3: S.R. 1990/167 Amendment No. 4: S.R. 1990/257 Amendment No. 5: S.R. 1993/11 Te Runanga o Ngati Porou (as inserted by regulation 3 of the Maori Trust Boards Regulations 1985, Amendment No. 1), the following item: "Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua 11".

3. Second Schedule amended—The Second Schedule to the principal regulations is hereby amended by inserting, after the item relating to Te Runanga o Ngati Porou (as inserted by regulation 4 of the Maori Trust Boards Regulations 1985, Amendment No. 1), the item set out in the Schedule to these regulations.

SCHEDULE Reg. 3
New Item Inserted in Second Schedule to Principal Regulations

Name of Board	Number of Representatives of Specific Sections or Divisions	Specific Sections or Divisions Represented
Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua	1	Orakei Takiwa, comprising Ngati Whatua iwi, wherever residing, who belong to Orakei marae by direct descent.
	2	South Kaipara Takiwa, comprising Ngati Whatua iwi, wherever residing, who belong to Haranui, Puatahi, Reweti Te Aroha Pa, and Te Kia Ora marae by direct descent.
	3	Otamatea Takiwa, comprising Ngati Whatua iwi, wherever residing, who belong to Te Kiri, Te Pounga, Oruawharo, Otamatea, Arapaoa, Pouto, Waiotea, Nga Tai Whakarongorua, Te Kowhai, and Parirau marae by direct descent.
	1	Whangarei Takiwa, comprising Ngati Whatua iwi, wherever residing, who belong to Takahiwai, Toetoe, Korokota, and Tirarau marae by direct descent.
	4	Northern Wairoa Takiwa, comprising Ngati Whatua iwi, wherever residing, who belong to Naumai, Kapehu, Ripia, Oturei, Te Houhanga, Taita, Ahikiwi, Waikaraka, Tama te Uaua, Waikara, Matatina, and Pahinui marae by direct descent.

BOB MACFARLANE, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which come into force on 27 August 1993, amend the Maori Trust Boards Regulations 1985 in respect of Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua.

Regulation 2 fixes the number of members of Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua at 11.

Regulation 3 provides for 5 divisions of the beneficiaries, and prescribes the number of representatives to represent each such division on Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 29 July 1993. These regulations are administered in the Ministry of Maori Development.