1962/36

345



## THE MAORI TRUST BOARD REGULATIONS 1960, AMENDMENT NO. 1

## COBHAM, Governor-General

### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 2nd day of April 1962

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. KEITH HOLYOAKE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following regulations.

#### REGULATIONS

1. These regulations may be cited as the Maori Trust Board Regulations 1960, Amendment No. 1, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Maori Trust Board Regulations 1960\* (hereinafter referred to as the principal regulations).

2. Subclause (1) of regulation 4 of the principal regulations is hereby amended by omitting the words "the principal city or town in each of the provincial districts of New Zealand and in Gisborne, Rotorua, Wanganui, Timaru, and Invercargill", and substituting the words "Auckland, Wellington, Greymouth, Christchurch, Timaru, Dunedin, and Invercargill".

3. The Second Schedule to the principal regulations is hereby amended by omitting so much thereof as relates to the Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board, and substituting the words in the Schedule hereto.

# SCHEDULE

# Representatives of Specific Sections or Divisions of Beneficiaries of Ngaitahu Trust Board

| Name of Board                 | Number<br>of Represent-<br>atives of Spe-<br>cific Sections<br>or Divisions | Specific Sections or Divisions Represented  |
|-------------------------------|---|---|
| Ngaitahu Maori<br>Trust Board | One   | Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Kaikoura<br>District, comprising the Counties of Golden Bay,<br>Waimea, Murchison, Sounds, Marlborough,<br>Awatere, Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, and<br>Waipara; the City of Nelson; and the Boroughs<br>of Blenheim, Picton, Motueka, and Richmond.  |
| **                            | One   | Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Akaroa<br>District, comprising the Counties of Selwyn,<br>Malvern, Paparua, Halswell, Heathcote, Mount<br>Herbert, Ellesmere, Springs, Waiwera, Akaroa,<br>Waimairi, and Chatham Islands; the City of<br>Christchurch; and the Boroughs of Riccarton and<br>Lyttelton.   |
| "                             | One   | Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Arowhenua<br>District, comprising the Counties of Ashburton,<br>Geraldine, McKenzie, Levels, Waimate, and<br>Waitaki; the City of Timaru; and the Boroughs<br>of Ashburton, Geraldine, Temuka, Waimate,  |
| >>                            | One   | Oamaru, and Hampden.<br>Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Maahunui<br>District, comprising the Counties of Buller,<br>Inangahua, Grey, Westland, Tawera, Oxford,<br>Ashley, Kowai, Rangiora, and Eyre; the<br>Boroughs of Westport, Runanga, Greymouth,<br>Brunner, Kumara, Hokitika, Ross, Rangiora, and  |
| "                             | One   | Kaiapoi.<br>Ngaitahu beneficiarics residing in the Araiteuru<br>District, comprising the Counties of Vincent,<br>Maniatoto, Waihemo, Waikouaiti, Taieri, Penin-<br>sula, Tuapeka, Bruce, and Clutha; the City of<br>Dunedin; and the Boroughs of Cromwell,<br>Alexandra, Roxburgh, Palmerston, Naseby,<br>Waikouaiti, Port Chalmers, West Harbour,<br>St. Kilda, Green Island, Mosgiel, Lawrence, |
| "                             | One   | Tapanui, Milton, Balclutha, and Kaitangata.<br>Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Murihiku<br>District, comprising the Counties of Lake, Fiord,<br>Wallace, Southland, and Stewart Island; the<br>City of Invercargill; the Boroughs of Gore,<br>Mataura, Winton, Riverton, Bluff, Arrowtown,<br>and Queenstown; and the Town Districts of  |
| >>                            | One   | Otautau, Nightcaps, Wyndham, and Lumsden.<br>Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the Te Ika a Maui<br>District comprising the North Island of New<br>Zealand and other places not included in the<br>above districts.  |

## T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations make certain amendments to the procedure to be followed in the course of arranging elections to the Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board under Maori Trust Board Regulations and redefine the divisions of the Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board's beneficiaries by reference to county boundaries instead of by reference to 1946 electoral district boundaries.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 5 April 1962. These regulations are administered in the Department of Maori Affairs.