1970/149



## THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATIONS (EARTHQUAKE DANGERS) ORDER 1970

RICHARD WILD, Administrator of the Government

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 20th day of July 1970

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE GOVERNMENT IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Municipal Corporations Act 1954, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, and on the application to the Minister of Internal Affairs by the Councils concerned, hereby makes the following order.

## ORDER

1. Title—This order may be cited as the Municipal Corporations (Earthquake Dangers) Order 1970.

2. Councils authorised to exercise powers under section 301A of the Act—The following Councils are hereby declared to be Councils to which section 301A of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954 applies, namely:

Blenheim Borough Council. Lower Hutt City Council. Manukau City Council. Napier City Council. New Plymouth City Council. Timaru City Council. Wanganui City Council. Whangarei City Council.

> P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect. The effect of this order is to empower the Councils named to exercise the powers conferred by section 301A of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954 in relation to buildings likely to be dangerous in an earthquake.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 23 July 1970. This order is administered in the Department of Internal Affairs.