

THE LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES AND THE LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES TARIFF ORDER 1987

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 7th day of December 1987

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 120 (2) of the Customs Act 1966 (as substituted by section 6 (1) of the Customs Amendment Act (No. 4) 1987), His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Less Developed Countries and the Least Developed Countries Tariff Order 1987.
 - (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of January 1988.
- **2. Less Developed Countries**—(1) Each of the countries named in the First Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.
- (2) Each of the following countries, namely, American Samoa, the Bahamas, and the Netherland Antilles, shall, on the coming into force of this order, cease to be a less developed country for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.

- 3. Least Developed Countries—Each of the countries named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be one of the least developed countries for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.
- **4. Revocation**—The Less Developed Countries and the Least Developed Countries Tariff Order 1986* is hereby consequentially revoked.

*S.R. 1986/117

SCHEDULES

Cl. 2(1)

FIRST SCHEDULE LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Albania Algeria Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina India **Barbados** Belize Bolivia Iraq

Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory

British Virgin Islands

Bulgaria Burma Cameroon

Cayman Islands

Chile

China, Peoples Republic of Christmas İsland

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia

Congo Costa Rica Cuba Cyprus Dominica Dominican Republic

Ecuador Egypt

El Salvador Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Fiji Gabon

Ghana Gibraltar Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary Indonesia

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Israel Ivory Coast Jamaica Jordan Kampuchea Kenya

Korea, Republic of

Lebanon Liberia Macau Madagascar Malaysia Malta Mauritius Mexico Mongolia Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Nicaragua

Nigeria Norfolk Island

Pacific Island Trust Territory

Pakistan Panama

Papua New Guinea

FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES—continued

Paraguay Syrian Arab Republic
Peru Taiwan, Province of China

Philippines Thailand
Pitcairn Tonga
Poland Tunisia
Romania Turkey

St Helena Turks and Caicos Islands
St Kitts · Nevis US Misc. Pacific Islands

St Lucia Uruguay
St Vincent and The Grenadines Venezuela
Senegal Vietnam

Seychelles Wallis and Futuna Islands

Solomon Islands Yugoslavia Sri Lanka Zaire Suriname Zambia Swaziland Zimbabwe

SECOND SCHEDULE

Cl. 3

LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Afghanistan Lao People's Democratic Republic

Bangladesh Lesotho Benin Malawi Bhutan Maldives Mali Botswana Mauritania Burkina Faso (Formerly Upper Volta) Nepal Burundi Niger Cape Verde Rwanda

Central African Republic Western Samoa

Chad Sao Tome and Principe

Comoros, Islamic Sierra Leone
Federal Republic of Somalia
Djibouti Sudan
Equatorial Guinea Togo
Ethiopia Tuvalu

Gambia Uganda Guinea, Revolutionary People's United Republic of Tanzania

Republic of Vanuatu

Guinea—Bissau Yemen Arab Republic Haiti Yemen Democratic Republic

Kiribati

C. J. HILL, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 1 January 1988, specifies the countries that qualify for Less Developed Countries Preference (LDC) and Least Developed Countries Preference (LLDC) under the Customs Tariff.

American Samoa, the Bahamas, and the Netherland Antilles cease to be Less Developed Countries and, as from the commencement of 1 January 1988, will no longer qualify for preferential treatment.

Kiribati, Mauritania, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu have been added to the list of Least Developed Countries and, as from the commencement of 1 January 1988, will qualify for preferential treatment.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 10 December 1987. This order is administered in the Customs Department.