

## THE LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES AND THE LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES TARIFF ORDER 1986

## PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

## ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 16th day of June 1986

## Present:

THE RIGHT HON, G. W. R. PALMER PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 120 (3) of the Customs Act 1966, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Less Developed Countries and the Least Developed Countries Tariff Order 1986.
  - (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of July 1986.
- 2. Less Developed Countries—The countries set out in the First Schedule to this order are hereby declared to be less developed countries for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.
- **3. Least Developed Countries**—The countries set out in the Second Schedule to this order are hereby declared to be lesser of the least developed countries for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.
- **4. Consequential revocations**—The Developing Countries Tariff Order 1976\* is hereby consequentially revoked.

\*S.R. 1976/249

# Developed Countries Tariff Order 1986

#### **SCHEDULES**

#### Cl. 2

## FIRST SCHEDULE

## LESS DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Albania **Ivory Coast Jamaica** Algeria Jordan American Samoa Angola Kampuchea Anguilla Kenya Antigua and Barbuda Kiribati Korea, Republic of Argentina

Bahamas Lebanon **Barbados** Liberia **Belize** Macau Bolivia Madagascar Brazil Malaysia British Indian Ocean Territory Malta

Mauritania British Virgin Islands **Bulgaria** Mauritius Burma Mexico Cameroon Mongolia Cayman Islands Montserrat Chile Morocco China, Peoples Republic of Mozambique Christmas İsland Netherlands Antilles

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Nicaragua Colombia Nigeria

Norfolk Island Congo Costa Rica Pacific Island Trust Territory

Cuba Pakistan Panama Cyprus

Dominica Papua New Guinea Dominican Republic Paraguay Ecuador Peru

Egypt El Salvador **Philippines** Pitcairn Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Poland Romania

Gabon St Helena Ghana St Kitts—Nevis Gibraltar St Lucia

St Vincent and The Grenadines Grenada Guatemala Senegal

Guyana Seychelles Solomon Islands Honduras Sri Lanka Hungary India Suriname Indonesia Swaziland

Iran, Islamic Republic of Syrian Arab Republic Iraq Taiwan, Province of China Israel

Thailand

# FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

Tonga Venezuela Vietnam Tunisia

Turkey Wallis and Futuna Islands

Turks and Caicos Islands Yugoslavia Tuvalu Zaire US Misc. Pacific Islands Zambia **Zimbabwe** Uruguay

Vanuatu

## SECOND SCHEDULE

Cl. 3

#### LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES

Afghanistan Yemen Arab Republic Bangladesh Yemen Democratic Republic

Benin

Bhutan Lao People's Democratic Republic

Botswana Lesotho Burkina Faso (Formerly Upper Malawi Volta) **Maldives** Burundi Mali Cape Verde Nepal Central African Republic Niger Rwanda

Comoros, Islamic Federal Republic of Western Samoa

Djibouti Sao Tome and Principe

**Equatorial Guinea** Sierra Leone Ethiopia Somalia Gambia Sudan Guinea, Revolutionary People's Togo Uganda

Republic of Guinea—Bissau United Republic of Tanzania

> P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order specifies the countries that qualify for Less Developed Countries Preference (LDC) and Least Developed Countries Preference (LLDC) under the Customs Tariff.

Spain, Portugal, and Hong Kong have been omitted from the list of Less Developed Countries and from 1 July 1986 will no longer qualify for preferential treatment.

Poland has been added to the list of Less Developed Countries and from 1 July 1986 will qualify for preferential treatment.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 17 June 1986. This order is administered in the Customs Department.