1971/3



THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES PETROLEUM TAX NOTICE 1971

Pursuant to section 5A of the Motor Spirits (Regulation of Prices) Act 1933 (as enacted by section 32 of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970), the Secretary of Industries and Commerce hereby gives the following notice.

NOTICE

- 1. Title—This notice may be cited as the Local Authorities Petroleum Tax Notice 1971.
- 2. Imposition of local authorities petroleum tax—(1) Under section 10 of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970, the Secretary of Industries and Commerce has received, from the Clerks of the convening local authorities of the tax areas specified in the First Schedule hereto, notices of the imposition of a local authorities petroleum tax in those tax areas.
- (2) The scale of the tax imposed under the said Act in each of those tax areas is set out in the Second Schedule hereto.
- (3) The date on which the local authorities petroleum tax becomes effective under the said Act in each of those tax areas is the 1st day of February 1971.

SCHEDULES

FIRST SCHEDULE

Tax Areas (as Constituted under Sections 5 and 6 of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970) in which a Local Authorities Petroleum Tax has been Imposed on and from 1 February 1971

Tax Area			Districts
Auckland Northland			Auckland Regional District. Whangarei City; Kaitaia, Kaikohe, and Dargaville boroughs; Mangonui, Whangaroa, Bay of Islands, Hokianga, Hobson, Whangarei, and Otamatea counties; Kawakawa and Hikurangi town districts.

FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

Tax Area		Districts
Waikato-Coromandel		Hamilton City; Thames, Paeroa, Waihi, Te Awamutu, Cambridge, Morrinsville, Mata- mata, Putaruru, Te Aroha, Huntly, and Ngaruawahia boroughs; Great Barrier Island, Coromandel, Thames, Ohinemuri, Hauraki Plains, Waipa, Matamata, Piako, Raglan, and Waikato counties; Tokoroa
Bay of Plenty		County Town. Rotorua and Tauranga cities; Mount Maunganui, Te Puke, Whakatane, Kawerau, Murupara, Taupo, and Opotiki boroughs; Tauranga, Whakatane, Taupo, Opotiki, and Rotorua counties.
King Country		Otorohanga, Te Kuiti, and Taumarunui boroughs; Otorohanga, Waitomo, and Taumarunui counties; Ohura and Manunui town districts.
Wanganui		Wanganui City; Patea, Ohakune, Raetihi, Taihape, and Marton boroughs; Patea, Waitotara, Wanganui, Waimarino, and Rangitikei counties; Waverley and Hunterville town districts.
Manawatu		Palmerston North City; Levin, Otaki, Feilding, and Foxton boroughs; Horowhenua, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Manawatu, and Kairanga counties; Shannon County Borough.
East Coast		Gisborne City; Wairoa Borough; Waiapu, Waikohu, Cook, and Wairoa counties.
Hawke's Bay		Waikolit, Clook, and Walloa Counties. Napier and Hastings cities; Dannevirke, Woodville, Waipawa, Waipukurau, and Havelock North boroughs; Dannevirke, Woodville, Waipawa, Waipukurau, Patangata, and Hawke's Bay counties.
Nelson		Nelson City; Richmond and Motueka boroughs; Golden Bay and Waimea counties.
West Coast		Westport, Greymouth, Runanga, Hokitika, and Ross boroughs; Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland counties.
Christchurch		Christchurch City; Riccarton and Lyttelton boroughs; Waimairi, Paparua, Heathcote, Malvern, Ellesmere, Wairewa, Mount Herbert, and Akaroa counties.
South Canterbury		Timaru City; Ashburton, Waimate, Geraldine, and Temuka boroughs; Ashburton, Waimate, Geraldine, Mackenzie, and Levels counties.

FIRST SCHEDULE—continued

Tax Area		Districts	
Coastal Otago		Dunedin City; Oamaru, Port Chalmers, St. Kilda, Green Island, Mosgiel, Balclutha, Kaitangata, and Milton boroughs; Waitaki, Waikouaiti, Waihemo, Taieri, Bruce, and Clutha counties.	
Central Otago		Naseby, Tapanui, Lawrence, Roxburgh, Cromwell, Alexandra, Queenstown, and Arrowtown boroughs; Maniototo, Tua- peka, Vincent, and Lake counties.	
Southland		Invercargill City; Winton, Riverton, Bluff, Gore, and Mataura boroughs; Southland, Stewart Island, Wallace, and Fiord counties; Otautau and Wyndham town districts.	

SECOND SCHEDULE

SCALE OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES PETROLEUM TAX IMPOSED IN ABOVE-MENTIONED TAX AREAS

Motor Spirits	Diesel Fuel
Per Gallon	Per Gallon
3 cents	1.5 cents.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of January 1971.

M. J. MORIARTY, Secretary of Industries and Commerce.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936.

Date of notification in *Gazette*: 28 January 1971.

This notice is administered in the Department of Industries and Commerce.