## Serial Number 1947/161



### THE HOSPITAL REPRESENTATION ORDER 1947

# B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 16th day of October, 1947

#### Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Hospitals and Charitable Institutions Act, 1926, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, doth hereby order as follows:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Hospital Representation Order 1947.
- 2. The Order in Council made on the 25th day of March, 1935,\* making provision for the apportionment of representation of contributory districts on Hospital Boards, as amended by Order in Council made on the 12th day of April, 1938†, the Hospital Representation Order 1941;, and the Hospital Representation Order 1944s, are hereby amended by revoking the Schedules thereto so far only as they affect the representation upon the Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto of the contributory districts named in the second column of the said Schedule.
- 3. The numbers of members to be elected to the respective Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto as the representative or representatives of the contributory districts (including combined districts) named in the second column thereof shall be the numbers specified in the third column thereof respectively.
- 4. The respective contributory districts the names of which are set out in the second column of the Schedule hereto and therein bracketed together are combined into combined districts.
- 5. The respective contributory local authorities the districts of which are distinguished in the second column of the Schedule hereto by the letter "(P)" are selected to be the principal contributory local authorities of the combined districts in which the districts of such contributory local authorities are included.

<sup>\*</sup> Gazette, 28th March, 1935, Vol. I, page 784. † Gazette, 18th April, 1938, Vol. I, page 936. ‡ Statutory Regulations 1941, Serial number 1941/82, page 307. § Statutory Regulations 1944, Serial number 1944/58, page 195.

- 6. The following provision is made for particular cases:—
- (a) The date of the first election of an additional representative for the Whangarei Borough, Whakatane Borough, Stratford Borough, Masterton Borough, Blenheim Borough, Westport Borough, and Timaru Borough, and for the respective combined districts of the Lower Hutt City and Eastbourne Borough, the Nelson City, Richmond Borough, and Tahunanui Town District, and the Ashburton Borough and Tinwald Town District, shall be Wednesday, the 19th day of November, 1947.
- (b) The first election of representatives for each of the combined districts of Takaka County, Collingwood County, and Takaka Town District, and of Heathcote County and Lyttelton Borough, hereby created shall take place on Wednesday, the 19th day of November, 1947, and in the meantime the representatives of the combined districts heretofore existing shall continue to hold office.

(c) The present representatives of the Whakatane County and Ashburton County and of Wellington City shall continue to hold office until Wednesday, the 19th day of November, 1947.

### SCHEDULE

First Column.	Second Column.			Third Column.  Number of Representatives.
Hospital District.	Contributory District.			
Whangarei	   Whangarei Borough			4
Bay of Plenty	Whakatane County			6
	Whakatane Borough			2
Stratford	Stratford Borough			3
Wellington	Wellington City			12
	Lower Hutt City (P)		→ Combined	
	Eastbourne Borough		∫ district	3
Wairarapa	Masterton Borough		• • • •	4
Marlborough	Blenheim Borough			4
Nelson	Nelson City (P)		)	
	Richmond Borough		>Combined	
	Tahunanui Town District		district	4
	Takaka County (P)		1	
	Collingwood County		Combined	
	Takaka Town District		district	1
Buller	Westport Borough		·	4
North Canterbury	Heathcote County (P)		\ Combined	
	Lyttelton Borough		district	1
Ashburton	Ashburton County		·	5
	Ashburton Borough (P)		\ Combined	
	Tinwald Town District		district	3
South Canterbury	Timaru Borough			5

W. O. HARVEY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act, 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 23rd day of October, 1947. These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.