Serial Number 1944/58



THE HOSPITAL REPRESENTATION ORDER 1944

C. L. N. NEWALL, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington, this 21st day of April, 1944

Present:

THE HON. D. G. SULLIVAN PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Hospitals and Charitable Institutions Act, 1926, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, doth hereby order as follows :---

1. This Order may be cited as the Hospital Representation Order 1944.

2. The Order in Council made on the 25th day of March, 1935,* making provision for the apportionment of representation of contributory districts on Hospital Boards, as amended by Order in Council made on the 3rd day of November, 1937[†], and the Hospital Representation Order 1941⁺, is hereby further amended by revoking the Second Schedule thereto so far only as it affects-

- (a) The representation in the Whangaroa and Hokianga Hospital Districts; and
- (b) The representation upon the Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto of the contributory districts named in the second column of the said Schedule.

3. The numbers of members to be elected to the respective Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto as the representative or representatives of the contributory districts (including combined districts) named in the second column thereof shall be the numbers specified in the third column thereof respectively.

4. The respective contributory districts the names of which are set out in the second column of the Schedule hereto and therein bracketed together are combined into combined districts.

5. The respective contributory local authorities, the districts of which are distinguished in the second column of the Schedule hereto by the letter "(P)," are selected to be the principal contributory local authorities of the combined districts in which the districts of such contributory local authorities are included.

- Gazette, 28th March, 1935, Vol. I, page 784.
 † Gazette, 4th November, 1937, Vol. III, page 2443.
 ‡ Statutory Regulations 1941, Serial number 1941/82, page 307.

6. The following provision is made for particular cases :--

- (a) The date of the first election of an additional representative for the New Plymouth Borough, Wanganui City, Palmerston North City, Greymouth Borough, and Timaru Borough shall be the date of the next ordinary general election of members of Borough Councils:
- (b) The first election of representatives for each of the combined districts hereby created the principal contributory local authority of which is a County Council shall take place on the date of the next ordinary general election of County Councils, and in the meantime the representatives of the districts and combined districts heretofore existing shall continue to hold office until the date of the next ordinary general election of County Councils :
- (c) The first election of representatives for the Invercragill City and representatives for the respective combined districts of the Marton Borough and Taihape Borough, and Bluff Borough, Winton Borough, South Invercargill Borough, and Stewart Island County shall take place on the date of the next ordinary general election of members of Borough Councils, and in the meantime the representatives of the combined districts heretofore existing shall continue to hold office until the date of the next ordinary general election of Borough Councils.

First Column.	Second Column.		Third Column. Number of Representa- tives.
Hospital District.			
Waikato	Raglan County (P) Huntly Borough Ngaruawahia Borough Waina Compton (P)	$\left.\begin{array}{c} \cdot \cdot \\ \cdot \cdot \\ \cdot \cdot \end{array}\right\}$ Combined district	2
	Waipa County (P) Te Awamutu Borough Leamington Town Dis		2
	Piako County (P) Te Aroha Borough Morrinsville Borough	$\begin{array}{c} \ddots \\ \vdots \\ \vdots \end{array}$ Combined district	2
	Otorohanga County (H Kawhia County Otorohanga Town Dist	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	1
	Matamata County (P) Matamata Borough Cambridge Borough	$\left. \begin{array}{c} \cdot \\ \cdot $	2
Taranaki Wanganui	Putaruru Town Distri New Plymouth Borou Wanganui City	gh ´ 	5 5
	Rangitikei County (P) Hunterville Town Dist Bulls Town District Mangaweka Town Dis	trict Combined district	4
Palmerston North	Marton Borough (P) Taihape Borough Palmerston North City	… ∫Combined … ∫ district	$\frac{1}{5}$
Grey	Greymouth Borough	, •• ••	6

SCHEDULE

First Column.	Second Column.		Third Column.
Hospital District.	Contributory District.		Number of Representa- tives.
North Canterbury South Canterbury Southland	Ellesmere County (P) Leeston Town District Springs County Halswell County Heathcote County (P) Lyttelton Borough Sumner Borough Paparua County (P) Riccarton Borough Rangiora Borough Oxford County (P) Ashley County Waipara County (P) Ashley County Waimairi County (P) Eyre County Kaiapoi Borough Timaru Borough Invercargill City Bluff Borough (P) Winton Borough South Invercargill Boro Stewart Island County	Combined district Combined district Combined district Combined district Combined district Combined district Combined district Combined district	1 $ 1 $ $ 1 $ $ 2 $ $ 4 $ $ 4$

SCHEDULE—continued

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act, 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette* : 27th day of **April**, 1944. These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.

By Authority: E. V. PAUL, Government Printer, Wellington.-1944. Price 3d.]