

THE HEALTH DISTRICTS ORDER 1987

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 23rd day of February 1987

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Health Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Health Districts Order 1987.
 - (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of March 1987.
- 2. Defining Health Districts—(1) For the purposes of the Health Act 1956, New Zealand (except any part that is included in any area health district established pursuant to the Area Health Boards Act 1983) is hereby divided into the Health Districts named and described in the Schedule to this order.
- (2) Each such Health District shall be deemed to include all islands adjacent to the district as so described.
 - **8. Revocations**—The following orders are hereby revoked:

- (a) The Health Districts Order 1982*
- (b) The Health Districts Order 1982, Amendment No. 1†:
- (c) The Health Districts Order 1982, Amendment No. 2‡.

*S.R. 1982/174 †S.R. 1985/215 ‡S.R. 1985/237

SCHEDULE

TAKAPUNA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Rodney, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said county, including the Cities of East Coast Bays, Takapuna, Birkenhead, and Waitemata, and the Boroughs of Helensville, Devonport, Northcote, Henderson, Glen Eden, and New Lynn.

AUCKLAND HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Great Barrier Island and Waiheke, the Cities of Auckland and Mount Albert, and the Boroughs of Newmarket, Mount Eden, Mount Roskill, Onehunga, One Tree Hill, Ellerslie, and Tamaki.

SOUTH AUCKLAND HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Franklin, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said county, including the Cities of Papatoetoe, Manukau, and Papakura, and the Boroughs of Howick, Pukekohe, Waiuku, and Tuakau.

HAMILTON HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Thames-Coromandel, Otorohanga, and Waitomo, the Counties of Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Hauraki Plains, Ohinemuri, Piako, Matamata, and Taumarunui, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said districts and counties, including the City of Hamilton and the Boroughs of Huntly, Cambridge, Ngaruawahia, Te Awamutu, Paeroa, Waihi, Te Aroha, Morrinsville, Matamata, Putaruru, Tokoroa, and Taumarunui.

ROTORUA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Rotorua and Whakatane, the Counties of Tauranga and Taupo, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said districts and counties, including the City of Tauranga, and the Boroughs of Mount Maunganui, Te Puke, Taupo, Kawerau, and Murupara.

GISBORNE HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Opotiki, Waiapu, Waikohu, Cook, and Wairoa, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Gisborne and the Borough of Wairoa.

NEW PLYMOUTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the District of Hawera and the Counties of Clifton, Taranaki, Inglewood, Stratford, Egmont, Eltham, and Waimate West, and the boroughs and town district situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said district and counties, including the City of New Plymouth, the Boroughs of Waitara, Inglewood, Stratford, and Eltham, and the Town District of Manaia.

NAPIER HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Waipawa and Waipukurau, the County of Hawke's Bay, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said districts and county, including the Cities of Napier and Hastings and the Borough of Havelock North.

PALMERSTON NORTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Dannevirke, Woodville, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Manawatu, Kairanga, Horowhenua, Pahiatua, and Eketahuna, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Palmerston North and the Boroughs of Dannevirke, Woodville, Foxton, Feilding, Levin, Otaki, and Pahiatua.

HUTT HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Hutt, Featherston, Wairarapa South, and Masterton, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the Cities of Lower Hutt and Upper Hutt, and the Boroughs of Petone, Eastbourne, Kapiti, Masterton, Carterton, Greytown, Featherston, and Martinborough.

WELLINGTON HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Cities of Wellington and Porirua and the Borough of Tawa.

CHRISTCHURCH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Waimairi and Rangiora, the Counties of Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, Hurunui, Eyre, Oxford, Malvern, Paparua, Heathcote, Mount Herbert, Akaroa, Chatham Islands, Wairewa, Ellesmere, Marlborough, Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Christchurch, and the Boroughs of Kaiapoi, Rangiora, Riccarton, Lyttleton, Picton, Blenheim, Westport, Runanga, Greymouth, and Hokitika.

TIMARU HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Ashburton, Strathallan, MacKenzie, Waimate, and Waitaki, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Timaru, and the Boroughs of Ashburton, Geraldine, Temuka, Waimate, and Oamaru.

DUNEDIN HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Waihemo, Silverpeaks, Bruce, Clutha, Tuapeka, Maniototo, and Vincent, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Dunedin, and the Boroughs of Port Chalmers, St Kilda, Green Island, Mosgiel, Milton, Kaitangata, Balclutha, Tapanui, Lawrence, Roxburgh, Naseby, Alexandra, and Cromwell.

INVERCARGILL HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Lake, Southland, Wallace, and Stewart Island, and the boroughs situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Invercargill, and the Boroughs of Arrowtown, Queenstown, Gore, Mataura, Winton, Bluff, and Riverton.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on the 1st day of March 1987, consolidates the Health Districts Order 1982 and amendments for the purpose of bringing up to date the references to local body areas.

The order also substitutes new descriptions of the Auckland and South Auckland Health Districts. The new descriptions are required as a result of the amalgamation (from 1 October 1986) of the Boroughs of Mount Wellington and Otahuhu to form a new borough under the name Tamaki. Under the order, the new Borough of Tamaki is included within the Auckland Health District. The order also incorporates in the Christchurch Health District the area previously constituted as the Greymouth Health District.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 26 February 1987. This order is administered in the Department of Health.