1960/38



THE HEALTH DISTRICTS ORDER 1960

COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Greymouth this 29th day of March 1960

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Health Act 1956, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. (1) This order may be cited as the Health Districts Order 1960. (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of April 1960.

2. For the purposes of the Health Act 1956, New Zealand is hereby divided into the nineteen Health Districts named and described in the Schedule hereto. Each of the said districts shall include all islands adjacent thereto.

3. The Health Districts Order 1958* is hereby revoked.

*S.R. 1958/174

SCHEDULE

WHANGAREI HEALTH DISTRICT

ALL that area comprising the Counties of Mangonui, Whangaroa, Bay of Islands, Hokianga, Whangarei, Hobson, and Otamatea, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties.

TAKAPUNA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Rodney and Waitemata and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the Boroughs of East Coast Bays, Birkenhead, Devonport, Northcote, New Lynn, Takapuna, and Glen Eden.

Auckland Health District

All that area comprising the County of Great Barrier Island and the Road District of Waiheke and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said county, including the City of Auckland and the Boroughs of Mount Eden, Mount Albert, Newmarket, One Tree Hill, Ellerslie, Onehunga, Mount Roskill, and Mount Wellington.

MANUKAU – FRANKLIN HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Manukau and Franklin and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties including the Boroughs of Howick, Otahuhu, Papatoetoe, Pukekohe, and Papakura.

HAMILTON HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Coromandel, Thames, Hauraki Plains, Ohinemuri, Waikato, Raglan, Waipa, Piako, Matamata, Otorohanga, and Waitomo, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Hamilton, and the Boroughs of Thames, Waihi, Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Cambridge, and Te Aroha.

ROTORUA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Tauranga, Rotorua, Taupo, and Whakatane, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the Boroughs of Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, and Whakatane.

GISBORNE HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the counties of Matakaoa, Waiapu, Waikohu, Uawa, Cook, Wairoa, and Opotiki, and the boroughs and town districts within or contiguous to the said counties, including the City of Gisborne and the Boroughs of Wairoa and Opotiki.

NEW PLYMOUTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Clifton, Taranaki, Inglewood, Egmont, Stratford, Eltham, Waimate West, Hawera, and Patea, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of New Plymouth and the Boroughs of Waitara and Patea.

NAPIER HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Hawke's Bay, Patangata, Waipawa, and Waipukurau, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Napier and the Boroughs of Waipawa and Waipukurau.

WANGANUI HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the counties of Waitotara, Waimarino, Taumarunui, Wanganui, and Rangitikei, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Wanganui and the Town District of Mangaweka.

PALMERSTON NORTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Manawatu, Kairanga, Horowhenua, Woodville, Dannevirke, Eketahuna, Akitio, and Pahiatua, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Palmerston North and the Boroughs of Feilding, Foxton, and Otaki.

HUTT HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Hutt, Featherston, Wairarapa South, Masterton, and Mauriceville, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Lower Hutt and the Boroughs of Petone and Eastbourne.

Wellington Health District

All that area comprising the County of Makara and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said county, including the City of Wellington.

Nelson Health District

All that area comprising the Counties of Sounds, Marlborough, Awatere, Waimea, Golden Bay, and Murchison, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Nelson and the Boroughs of Motueka and Richmond.

GREYMOUTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the Boroughs of Westport, Greymouth, Kumara, Hokitika, and Ross.

CHRISTCHURCH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, Waipara, Kowai, Ashley, Rangiora, Eyre, Oxford, Tawera, Malvern, Paparua, Waimairi, Heathcote, Halswell, Mount Herbert, Akaroa, Chatham Islands, Wairewa, Springs, Ellesmere, and Selwyn, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Christchurch and the Boroughs of Kaiapoi, Lyttelton, and Riccarton.

TIMARU HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Ashburton, Geraldine, Levels, Mackenzie, Waimate, and Waitaki, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Timaru and the Boroughs of Oamaru and Hampden.

DUNEDIN HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Waihemo, Waikouaiti, Peninsula, Taieri, Bruce, Clutha, Tuapeka, Maniototo, and Vincent, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Dunedin and the Boroughs of Palmerston, Waikouaiti, Port Chalmers, Green Island, Balclutha, St. Kilda, and West Harbour.

INVERCARGILL HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Lake, Southland, Wallace, Fiord, and Stewart Island, and the boroughs and town districts situated within or contiguous to the boundaries of the said counties, including the City of Invercargill, the Boroughs of Bluff and Riverton, and the Town District of Lumsden.

> T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 31 March 1960. These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.