# 1988/211



### THE HEALTH DISTRICTS NOTICE 1988

PURSUANT to section 19 (1) of the Health Act 1956 (as substituted by section 5 (1) of the Health Amendment Act 1988), the Director-General of Health hereby gives the following notice.

#### NOTICE

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This notice may be cited as the Health Districts Notice 1988.
  - (2) This notice shall come into force on the 1st day of October 1988.
- 2. Defining Health Districts—(1) For the purposes of the Health Act 1956, New Zealand (except any part that is included in any area health district established pursuant to the Area Health Boards Act 1983) is hereby divided into the Health Districts named and described in the Schedule to this notice.
- (2) Each such Health District shall be deemed to include all islands adjacent to the district as so described.
- **3. Existing Health Districts superseded**—The Health Districts existing immediately before the commencement of this notice (being the Health Districts declared by the Health Districts Order 1987\* and continued in existence by section 5 (2) of the Health Amendment Act 1988) are superseded by the Health Districts declared by clause 2 of this notice.

\*S.R. 1987/27 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1987/320 Amendment No. 2: S.R. 1988/120

### **SCHEDULE**

Cl. 2

#### TAKAPUNA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Rodney, the Cities of East Coast Bays, Takapuna, Birkenhead, and Waitemata, and the Boroughs of Helensville, Devonport, Northcote, Henderson, Glen Eden, and New Lynn.

### AUCKLAND HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Great Barrier Island and Waiheke, the Cities of Auckland, Mount Albert, and Tamaki, and the Boroughs of Newmarket, Mount Eden, Mount Roskill, Onehunga, One Tree Hill, and Ellerslie.

## SOUTH AUCKLAND HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the County of Franklin, the Cities of Papatoetoe, Manukau, and Papakura, and the Boroughs of Howick, Pukekohe, Waiuku, and Tuakau.

### HAMILTON HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Thames-Coromandel, Otorohanga, and Waitomo, the Counties of Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Hauraki Plains, Ohinemuri, Piako, Matamata, and Taumarunui, the City of Hamilton, and the Boroughs of Huntly, Cambridge, Ngaruawahia, Te Awamutu, Paeroa, Waihi, Te Aroha, Morrinsville, Matamata, Putaruru, Tokoroa, and Taumarunui.

#### ROTORUA HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Rotorua, Opotiki, and Whakatane, the Counties of Tauranga and Taupo, the City of Tauranga, and the Boroughs of Mount Maunganui, Te Puke, Taupo, Kawerau, and Murupara.

### NAPIER HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Waipawa, Waipukurau, and Wairoa, the County of Hawke's Bay, the Cities of Napier and Hastings, and the Borough of Havelock North.

### PALMERSTON NORTH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Dannevirke, Woodville, and Manawatu, the Counties of Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Horowhenua, Pahiatua, and Eketahuna, the City of Palmerston North and the Boroughs of Foxton, Feilding, Levin, Otaki, and Pahiatua.

## WELLINGTON HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Hutt, Featherston, Wairarapa South, and Masterton, the Cities of Wellington, Porirua, Lower Hutt, and Upper Hutt, and the Boroughs of Petone, Eastbourne, Tawa, Kapiti, Masterton, Carterton, Greytown, Featherston, and Martinborough.

#### CHRISTCHURCH HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Districts of Waimairi and Rangiora, the Counties of Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, Hurunui, Eyre, Oxford, Malvern, Paparua, Heathcote, Mount Herbert, Akaroa, Chatham Islands, Wairewa, and Ellesmere, the City of Christchurch, and the Boroughs of Kaiapoi, Riccarton, and Lyttelton.

## SCHEDULE—continued

### TIMARU HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the Counties of Ashburton, Strathallan, MacKenzie, and Waimate, the City of Timaru, and the Boroughs of Ashburton, Geraldine, Temuka, and Waimate.

#### SOUTH OTAGO HEALTH DISTRICT

All that area comprising the District of Bruce, the County of Clutha, and the Borough of Balclutha.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of September 1988.

GEORGE SALMOND, Director-General of Health.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the notice, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This notice, which comes into force on 1 October 1988, divides New Zealand into Health Districts for the purposes of the Health Act 1956. It supersedes the Health Districts Order 1987

The notice—

- (a) Includes a reference to the District of Opotiki in the description of the Rotorua Health District:
- (b) Omits the description of the Gisborne Health District:
- (c) Includes references to the District of Wairoa in the description of the Napier Health District:
- (d) Omits the description of the Hutt Health District:
- (e) Includes within the Wellington Health District the area of the former Hutt Health District:
- (f) Omits from the description of the Christchurch Health District the references to the Counties of Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland and the references to the Boroughs of Westport, Runanga, Greymouth, and Hokitika:
- (g) Defines the new South Otago Health District:
- (h) Omits the description of the Invercargill Health District.

Except for the amalgamation of the Wellington and Hutt Health Districts, the changes are consequential upon the establishment of the Tairawhiti Area Health District, the West Coast Area Health Board, the Otago Area Health Board, and the Southland Area Health Board.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 8 September 1988. This notice is administered in the Department of Health.