1962/168



THE HARBOUR BOARDS REPRESENTATION ORDER 1959, AMENDMENT NO. 2

H. E. BARROWCLOUGH, Administrator of the Government ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 19th day of September 1962

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE GOVERNMENT IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. This order may be cited as the Harbour Boards Representation Order 1959, Amendment No. 2, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Harbour Boards Representation Order 1959* (hereinafter referred to as the principal order).
- 2. The First Schedule to the Harbours Act 1950 (as substituted by section 20 (1) of the Harbours Amendment Act 1959) is hereby amended—
 - (a) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Auckland Harbour Board the words "one by the electors of the Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Takapuna, Northcote, and East Coast Bays", and substituting the words "one by the electors of the City of Takapuna and of the Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Northcote, and East Coast Bays":
 (b) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the
 - (b) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Tauranga Harbour Board the words "one by the electors of the Borough of Rotorua", and substituting the words "one by the electors of the City of Rotorua":
 - (c) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Wellington Harbour Board the words "one by the electors of the Counties of Hutt and Makara and of the Boroughs of Eastbourne and Tawa", and substituting the words "one by the electors of the County of Hutt and of the Boroughs of Eastbourne, Tawa, and Porirua".

*S.R. 1959/160 Amendment No. 1: S.R. 1962/105 3. The First Schedule to the principal order is hereby amended—

(a) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Auckland Harbour Board the words "The Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Takapuna, Northcote, and East Coast Bays", and substituting the words "The City of Takapuna and the Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Northcote, and East Coast Bays":

(b) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Wellington Harbour Board the words "The Counties of Hutt and Makara and the Boroughs of Eastbourne and Tawa", and substituting the words "The County of Hutt and the Boroughs

of Eastbourne, Tawa, and Porirua":

(c) By omitting from so much of the second column as relates to the Whakatane Harbour Board the words "Town District of Murupara", and substituting the words "Borough of Murupara".

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect. This order makes such changes as are necessary in the First Schedule to the Harbours Act 1950 (setting out the constitution of Harbour Boards) and in the First Schedule to the Harbour Boards Representation Order 1959 (relating to the principal local authorities to conduct the election of members of Boards in combined districts) as a result of the attainment of city status by the Boroughs of Takapuna and Rotorua, the abolision of the County of Makara and the constitution of part of the abolished county as the Borough of Porirua and the incorporation of part in the County of Hutt, and the constitution of the Town District of Murupara as a borough.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 20 September 1962. These regulations are administered in the Marine Department.