## 1962/165



# THE HOSPITAL BOARDS REPRESENTATION ORDER 1959, AMENDMENT NO. 1

# COBHAM, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 12th day of September 1962

#### Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Hospitals Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

- 1. This order may be cited as the Hospital Boards Representation Order 1959, Amendment No. 1, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Hospital Boards Representation Order 1959\* (hereinafter referred to as the principal order).
- 2. The First Schedule to the principal order is hereby amended by revoking so much thereof as affects the representation upon the Hospital Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto of the constituent districts named in the second column of the said Schedule.
- 3. The number of members to be elected to the Boards of the hospital districts named in the first column of the Schedule hereto as the representative or representatives of the constituent districts (including combined districts) named in the second column thereof shall be the number specified in the third column thereof.
- 4. The constituent districts, the names of which are set out in the second column of the Schedule hereto and therein bracketed together, are hereby combined into combined districts.
- 5. The local authorities of the constituent districts which are distinguished in the second column of the Schedule hereto by the letter "(P)" are hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authorities of the combined districts in which the districts of those local authorities are included for the purpose of the conduct of elections within those combined districts.

- 6. Subject to the provisions of sections 34 and 35 of the Hospitals Act 1957 and to clause 7 of this order, the representatives of constituent districts and combined districts holding office as members of Hospital Boards at the date of the making of this order shall continue to hold office until their successors elected at the next triennial election of members of Hospital Boards come into office.
  - 7. The following provision is hereby made for particular cases:
  - (a) The date of the first election of an additional representative for Hamilton City, Tauranga Borough, Alexandra Borough, Horowhenua County, and for the combined district of which Manukau County is the principal local authority, shall be the 13th day of October 1962.
  - (b) The first election of the representative for the combined district of Otaki Borough, Shannon Borough, and Foxton Borough created by this order shall take place on the 13th day of October 1962, and the representatives of the combined districts of Manawatu County and Foxton Borough and of Otaki Borough and Shannon Borough, heretofore existing, shall continue to hold office until that date and shall then retire.
  - (c) The first election of the representative for the combined district of Porirua Borough and Tawa Borough created by this order shall take place on the 13th day of October 1962, and the representative of the combined district of Makara County and Tawa Borough, heretofore existing, shall continue in office until that date and shall then retire.
  - (d) The date of the first election of representatives for Manawatu County and Richmond Borough shall be the 13th day of October 1962.
  - (e) The election of the first representatives for Nelson City shall take place during the period commencing on the 8th day of October 1962 and ending with the 13th day of October 1962.
  - (f) The representatives of the combined district of Nelson City and Richmond Borough, heretofore existing, shall continue in office until the 13th day of October 1962 and shall then retire.
  - (g) The 13th day of October 1962 is hereby appointed as the day for the retirement of those representatives of the Tauranga County and Vincent County and the combined district of Waipa County and Te Awamutu Borough who are required to retire from office under subsection (4) of section 28 of the Hospitals Act 1957 in order to give effect to the reduction in the number of representatives.

## **SCHEDULE**

First Column Hospital District		Second Column  Constituent District		Third Column  Number of Representatives
Auckland		Otahuhu Borough Papakura Borough Manurewa Borough Howick Borough Manukau County (P) Papatoetoe Borough	Combined District	2
Waikato		Hamilton City Waipa County (P) Te Awamutu Borough	Combined District	3 1
Tauranga		Tauranga County Tauranga Borough		4 3
Palmerston	North	Manawatu County Horowhenua County Otaki Borough (P) Shannon Borough Foxton Borough	Combined District	1 2 1
Wellington		Porirua Borough (P) Tawa Borough	Combined District	1
Nelson		Nelson City Richmond Borough		4 1
Vincent	*****	Vincent County Alexandra Borough		5 3

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order alters the composition of the Auckland, Waikato, Tauranga, Palmerston North, Wellington, Nelson, and Vincent Hospital Boards.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 13 September 1962. These regulations are administered in the Department of Health.