1976/249



THE DEVELOPING COUNTRIES TARIFF ORDER 1976

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 6th day of September 1976

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 120 of the Customs Act 1966, as amended by section 5 of the Customs Acts Amendment Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Developing Countries Tariff Order 1976.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.
- **2. Developing countries**—The countries set out in the Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be developing countries for the purpose of the Customs Act 1966.
- 3. Consequential revocations—The Developing Countries Tariff Order 1972* and the Developing Countries Tariff Order 1972, Amendment No. 1†, are hereby consequentially revoked.

*S.R. 1972/213 †S.R. 1974/231

SCHEDULE

DEVELOPING COUNTRIES

PART A

Afghanistan Honduras Albania India Indonesia Algeria Angola Iran Argentina Irag Bahamas Israel Ivory Coast Bahrein Bangladesh Jamaica Jordan Barbados Benin Kampuchea Kenya Bhutan Bolivia Kuwait Botswana Laos Lebanon Brazil Bulgaria Lesotho Burma Liberia Burundi Libya Cape Verde Madagascar Central African Republic Malawi Chad Malaysia Chile Maldives China (Taiwan)† Mali Colombia Malta Mauritania Comoros Congo Mauritius Costa Rica Mexico Cuba Mongolia Cyprus Morocco Democratic Yemen Mozambique Dominican Republic Nauru Ecuador Nepal Nicaragua Egypt El Salvador Niger Equatorial Guinea Nigeria Ethiopia Oman Pakistan Fiji Gabon Panama

Gambia Papua-New Guinea

Ghana Paraguay
Greece Peru
Grenada Philippines
Guatamala Portugal
Guinea Qatar

Guinea-Bissau Republic of Korea

Guyana Romania Haiti Rwanda

[†]China is not classified as a developing country, except for that part known as Taiwan.

Sao Tome and Principe Trinidad and Tobago

Saudi Arabia Tunisia Turkey Senegal Seychelles Uganda

United Arab Emirates (all seven) Sierra Leone United Republic of Tanzania Singapore Somalia United Republic of Cameroon

Spain Upper Volta Sri Lanka Uraguay Sudan Venezuela Surinam Vietnam Western Samoa Swaziland Syria Yemen Thailand Yugoslavia Zaire Republic Togo Tonga Zambia

PART B

British Dependent Territories and Countries for the Conduct of Whose External Affairs the United Kingdom is Responsible

Antigua Islands (Flint, Caroline, Belize Vostock, Malden, and Bermuda Starbuck)

British Indian Ocean Territory Grenadines British Virgin Islands Hong Kong

Montserrat Brunei

Cayman Islands New Hebrides Condominium Dominica Pitcairn Islands

Falkland Islands and

St. Helena and Dependencies Dependencies St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla Gibraltar St. Lucia

Gilbert Islands—including St. Vincent Ocean Island, the Phoenix Santa Cruz Islands, the Northern Line Solomon Islands

Turks and Caicos Islands Islands (Washington, Fanning,

Tuvalu and Christmas), and the Central and Southern Line

PART C

Overseas Territories of France and the Netherlands

Netherlands Antilles French Polynesia French Territories of Afars and New Caledonia

Wallis and Futuna Islands Issas

PART D

Australian Dependent Territories

Heard and McDonald Islands Australian Antarctic Territories Cocos (Keeling) Islands New Ireland Corn and Swan Islands Norfolk Island

PART E

Dependent Territories of the United States of America

American Samoa (Manua Group and Tutuila)

Guam Palmyra Swain's Island Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands—including the Carolines (Palau, Yap, Ponape, and Truk Districts), Marianas, and Marshalls Virgin Islands

PART F

Portuguese Dependent Territory

Macao

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order constitutes a completely revised listing of countries that qualify for Developing Countries Preference under the Customs Tariff of New Zealand.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 9 September 1976. This order is administered in the Customs Department.