1972/213



THE DEVELOPING COUNTRIES TARIFF ORDER 1972

DENIS BLUNDELL, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 2nd day of October 1972

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 120 of the Customs Act 1966, as amended by section 4 of the Customs Amendment Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Developing Countries Tariff Order 1972.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.
- 2. Developing countries—(1) The countries set out in the Schedule hereto are hereby declared to be developing countries for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966.
 - (2) The Developing Countries Tariff Order 1971 is hereby

consequentially revoked.

SCHEDULE

Developing Countries

PART A

Afghanistan.

Algeria.

Arab Republic of Egypt.

Argentine.

Bahrein. Bangladesh.

Barbados.

Bhutan.

Bolivia.

Botswana.

Brazil.

Bulgaria. Burma.

Burundi.

Cameroon. Central African Republic.

Chad. Chile.

Colombia.

Costa Rica.

SCHEDULE—continued

Cuba. Cyprus. Dahomey. Dominican Republic.

Ecuador. El Salvador.

Equatorial Guinea.

Ethiopia. Fiji. Gabon.

Greece.

The Gambia. Ghana.

Guatemala. Guinea.

Guyana. Haiti. Honduras. India. Indonesia.

Iran. Iraq. Israel. Ivory Coast. Jamaica.

Jordan. Kenya.

Khmer Republic.

Kuwait. Laos. Lebanon. Lesotho.

Liberia. Libya.

Malagasy Republic.

Malawi. Malaysia. Maldives. Mali. Malta. Mauritania.

Mauritius. Mexico. Morocco. Nauru.

British Dependent Territories

Bahamas. Bermuda.

British Honduras.

British Indian Ocean Territory. British Solomon Islands.

Nepal. Nicaragua. Niger. Nigeria. Pakistan.

Panama. Paraguay.

People's Democratic Republic of

Yemen.

Peoples Republic of the Congo.

Peru. Philippines. Qatar.

Republic of China (Taiwan). Republic of Korea.

Republic of Korea.
Republic of Vietnam.

Romania. Rwanda. Saudi Arabia. Senegal. Sierra Leone. Singapore. Somali Republic.

Spain.
Sri Lanka.
Sudan.
Swaziland.
Syria.
Thailand.
Togo.
Tonga.

Trinidad and Tobago.

Tunisia. Turkey. Uganda.

United Arab Emirates.

United Republic of Tanzania.

Upper Volta. Uruguay. Venezuela. Western Samoa.

Yemen Arab Republic.

Yugoslavia. Zaire Republic.

Zambia.

British Virgin Islands. Cayman Islands.

Falkland Islands and Dependencies.

Gibraltar.

SCHEDULE—continued

PART B

Gilbert and Ellice Islands-including Ocean Island, the Phoenix Islands, the Northern Line Islands (Washington, Fanning, and Christmas), and the Central and Southern Line Islands (Flint, Caroline, Vostock, Malden, and Starbuck).

Hong Kong. Montserrat.

New Hebrides Condominium.

Pitcairn Islands.

St. Helena and Dependencies.

Seychelles.

Turks and Caicos Islands.

PART C

Countries for the Conduct of Whose External Affairs the United Kingdom is Responsible.

Antigua.

St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla.

Brunei. Dominica. Grenada.

St. Lucia. St. Vincent.

PART D

Australian Dependent Territories Territory of Papua-New Guinea.

PART E

Overseas Territories of the EEC

Comoro Archipelago.

New Caledonia.

French Polynesia. French Territories of Afars and Saint Pierre and Miquelon. Surinam.

Wallis and Futuna Is.

Netherlands Antilles.

PART F

Spanish Dependent Territories

Spanish Sahara.

P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order deletes French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, and Reunion from the list of countries which qualify in terms of the Developing Countries Tariff. In addition this order applies that Tariff to goods imported into New Zealand which are the produce or manufacture of Bahrein, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bulgaria, Cuba, Qatar, Romania, and the Spanish dependent territory of Spanish Sahara. Caylon and the Trucial States are now included under their new designations of Sri Lanka and the United Arab Emirates.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in Gazette: 5 October 1972. This order is administered in the Customs Department.