

#### THE CUSTOMS PORTS OF ENTRY NOTICE 1975

Pursuant to section 26 of the Customs Act 1966, the Minister of Customs hereby gives the following notice.

#### NOTICE

- 1. Title and Commencement—(1) This notice may be cited as the Customs Ports of Entry Notice 1975.
  - (2) This notice shall come into force on the 1st day of April 1975.
- 2. Ports of entry—The ports mentioned in the first column of the Schedule hereto are hereby appointed to be ports of entry for the purposes of the Customs Act 1966, and shall be known by the names set out in that column.
- 3. Limits—(1) Except as provided in subclause (2) of this clause, the said ports of entry shall have the limits defined in the second column of the Schedule hereto.
- (2) The limits so defined shall not in any case extend beyond the outer limits of the territorial sea of New Zealand as defined in section 3 of the Territorial Sea and Fishing Zone Act 1965, and the Schedule hereto shall accordingly be read subject to such modifications as may be necessary to give effect to this subclause.
- 4. Revocation—The Customs Ports of Entry Notice 1968 is hereby revoked.

### SCHEDULE Ports of Entry

Name	 Limits
Auckland	 All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle of 34 kilometres radius, the centre of which is triangulation station 4281 situated in Block X, Otahuhu Survey District, and recorded on Geodetic Triangulation Plan N42 lodged in the office of the Chief Surveyor, Auckland.
Christchurch	 All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within Lyttelton Harbour, the Borough of Lyttelton, the City of Christchurch, Heathcote County, Paparua County, the Borough of Riccarton, and Waimairi County.

# SCHEDULE—continued

# Ports of Entry—continued

Name		Limits
Dunedin		All the waters of Otago Harbour within a straight
Gisborne		line drawn from Heyward Point to Taiaroa Head, including the land abutting thereon to a distance of 1 kilometre from high-water mark and that comprised in the Borough of Port Chalmers and the City of Dunedin within a radius of 6 kilometres from the Chief Post Office.  The waters of Poverty Bay inside a straight line drawn from Tuaheni, the North Head, to the South of Young Nick's Head, including the rivers Turanganui, Taruheru, Waimata, and Waikanae, together with the land abutting thereon to a distance of 1 kilometre from high-water mark and that comprised in the City of Gisborne.
Greymouth	•••••	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 5 kilometres from the Customhouse, Greymouth.
Hamilton	•••••	All that portion of land, river, and lake comprised within a circle with a radius of 5 kilometres from the Whitiora Post Office in the City of Hamilton.
Invercargill		All the waters of the New River Harbour and Estuary and the Mokomoko Inlet included inside a straight line drawn from the Steep Head to Bushy Point, also the land abutting thereon to a distance of 1 kilometre from high-water mark and the land comprised in the City of Invercargill, together with all the waters of Bluff Harbour and Awarua Bay inside a straight line drawn from Stirling Point to Tiwai Point, the land abutting thereon to a distance of 1 kilometre from highwater mark and the land comprised in the Borough of Bluff.
Napier		The waters of Hawke Bay and the land adjacent thereto included within a circle with a radius of 7 kilometres from the Napier City Council's Water Tower in Thompson Road; also the land comprised in the City of Napier.
Nelson		All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 5 kilometres from the lighthouse situated on the Boulder Bank near the entrance to Nelson Harbour.
New Plymouth		All that portion of sea and land comprised within a circle with a radius of 8 kilometres from Trig Station Paritutu No. 2, New Plymouth.
Palmerston North		All that portion of land and river comprised within the limits of the City of Palmerston North.

# SCHEDULE—continued Ports of Entry—continued

TOKED OF ZELLER TOTAL TO			
Name	Limits		
Tauranga	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 12 kilometres from the centre of the intersection of Hewletts Road with Tasman Quay in the Borough of Mount Maunganui.		
Timaru	All that portion of sea and land comprised within a circle with a radius of 6 kilometres and having its centre at Standard Stone 13, in the City of Timaru, such point being 595.76 metres N and 15711.17 metres E of Mt. Horrible Trig Station.		
Wairau (including Picton)	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 10 kilometres from the Post Office, Blenheim, together with the waters of Queen Charlotte Sound inside a straight line drawn due north from Point Dieffenbach at the western entrance to the Tory Channel to the opposite shore of the said Sound, the land abutting thereon to a distance of 1 kilometre from highwater mark, and that comprised in the Borough of Picton.		
Waitangi (Chatham Islands)	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 5 kilometres from the Post Office, Waitangi.		
Wanganui	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 7 kilometres from the east end of Castlecliff Wharf, situated at the mouth of Wanganui River.		
Wellington	All that portion of sea, land, and river comprised within a circle with a radius of 10 kilometres from the centre of Ward Island in Wellington Harbour.		
Whangarei	All the waters of the Whangarei Harbour included inside a line extending from Bream Head 2 kilometres east then southward on an arc of a circle of 7 kilometres radius from the concrete structure on Frenchman Island to mean high-water mark in Bream Bay south of Marsden Point, together with the land abutting thereon to a distance of 2 kilometres from high-water mark, and that comprised in the City of Whangarei.		

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of March 1975.

MICHAEL CONNELLY, Minister of Customs.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the notice, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This notice redefines ports of entry for the purpose of the Customs Act 1966, taking into account metric measurements.

The Port of Christchurch has been extended to cover the south-east sector of the City which was previously outside the limits of the port.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 20 March 1975. This notice is administered in the Customs Department.