1957/236



THE COOK ISLANDS STERLING AREA CURRENCY AND SECURITIES EXEMPTION NOTICE 1957

PURSUANT to the Cook Islands Exchange Control Regulations 1948* (hereinafter referred to as the regulations), the Minister of Finance hereby gives notice as follows:

1. This notice may be cited as the Cook Islands Sterling Area Currency and Securities Exemption Notice 1957.

2. Foreign securities which are registered or inscribed in any of the countries specified in the Schedule hereto are hereby exempted from the restrictions imposed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of subclause (1) of regulation 5 of the regulations.

3. Foreign currency of any of the countries specified in the Schedule hereto is hereby exempted from the operation of regulations 7, 8, and 9 of the regulations.

4. The Cook Islands Sterling Area Currency and Securities Exemption Notice 1950† is hereby revoked.

*S.R. 1948/200 †Notified in Rarotonga on 30 March 1950, and in Niue on 29 March 1950

SCHEDULE

COUNTRIES OF THE STERLING AREA

The United Kingdom. Australia. The Union of South Africa. Pakistan. Ceylon. The Republic of India. Ghana. The Federation of Malaya. The Dependent Territories of the Countries of the British Commonwealth other than Canada. The Republic of Ireland. Burma. Iceland. Iraq.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of October 1957.

JACK T. WATTS, Minister of Finance.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 31 October 1957. These regulations are administered in the Treasury.