

# THE CIVIL DEFENCE REGIONS NOTICE 1979, AMENDMENT NO. 1

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Civil Defence Act 1962, the Minister of Civil Defence hereby gives the following notice.

## NOTICE

- 1. Title—This notice may be cited as the Civil Defence Regions Notice 1979, Amendment No. 1, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Civil Defence Regions Notice 1979\* (hereinafter referred to as the principal notice).
- 2. Civil defence regions—(1) The Schedule to the principal notice is hereby amended by omitting from paragraph (j) of the description of the Taranaki Civil Defence Region the word "East", and substituting the word "West".
- (2) The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the description of the Taranaki Civil Defence Region, the following descriptions:

#### "WANGANUI CIVIL DEFENCE REGION

All that area comprising the following districts:

- (a) The County of Waimarino:
- (b) The Borough of Raetihi:
- (c) The Borough of Ohakune:
- (d) The County of Waitotara: (e) The County of Wanganui:
- (f) The City of Wanganui:
- (g) The County of Rangitikei:
- (h) The Borough of Taihape:
- (i) The Borough of Marton.

### "BAY OF PLENTY CIVIL DEFENCE REGION

ALL that area comprising the following districts:

- (a) The County of Tauranga:(b) The City of Tauranga:
- (c) The Borough of Mount Maunganui:
- (d) The Borough of Te Puke:

- (e) The District of Whakatane:
- (f) The Borough of Kawerau:
- (g) The Borough of Murupara:
- (h) The District of Rotorua.

# "EAST CAPE CIVIL DEFENCE REGION

ALL that area comprising the following districts:

- (a) The County of Waiapu:
- (b) The County of Opotiki:
- (c) The County of Waikohu:
- (d) The County of Cook:
- (e) The City of Gisborne."
- (3) The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the description of the Nelson Bays Civil Defence Region, the following description.

## "CANTERBURY CIVIL DEFENCE REGION

ALL that area comprising the following districts:

- (a) The County of Amuri:
- (b) The County of Cheviot:
- (c) The County of Hurunui:
- (d) The County of Oxford:
- (e) The District of Rangiora:
- (f) The Borough of Rangiora:
- (g) The County of Eyre:
- (h) The Borough of Kaiapoi:
- (i) The County of Paparua:
- (i) The County of Waimairi:
- (k) The City of Christchurch:
- (1) The Borough of Riccarton:
- (m) The County of Heathcote:
- (n) The County of Mount Herbert:
- (o) The Borough of Lyttelton:
- (p) The County of Malvern:
- (q) The County of Ellesmere:
- (r) The County of Wairewa:
- (s) The County of Akaroa."
- (4) The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the description of the West Coast Civil Defence Region, the following description:

### "Southland Civil Defence Region

ALL that area comprising the following districts:

- (a) The County of Fiord:
- (b) The County of Wallace:
- (c) The Borough of Riverton:
- (d) The County of Southland:
- (e) The Borough of Gore:
- (f) The Borough of Mataura:
- (g) The Borough of Winton:
- (h) The City of Invercargill:

(i) The Borough of Bluff:

- (j) The County of Stewart Island."
- (5) The said Schedule is hereby further amended by omitting from the description of the Northern Civil Defence Region the words "Counties of Opotiki, Whakatane, and Taupo; thence north along the Western boundary of the County of Taupo to its junction with the Waitomo County boundary; thence west along the southern boundary of the County of Waitomo to the sea", and substituting the words "County of Opotiki, the District of Whakatane, and the County of Taupo; thence north along the western boundary of the County of Taupo to its junction with Waitomo District boundary; thence west along the southern boundary of the District of Waitomo to the sea".
- (6) The said Schedule is hereby further amended by omitting from the description of the Southern Civil Defence Region the words "the County of Stewart Island,".

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of November 1979.

D. A. HIGHET, Minister of Civil Defence.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 29 November 1979. This notice is administered in the Department of Internal Affairs.