1968/213



THE CUSTOMS DISTRICTS NOTICE 1968

PURSUANT to the Customs Act 1966, the Comptroller of Customs hereby gives the following notice.

NOTICE

- 1. (1) This notice may be cited as the Customs Districts Notice 1968.
- (2) This notice shall come into force on the day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.
- 2. (1) The districts specified in the Schedule hereto are hereby appointed to be districts for the purpose of the control and management of all matters relating to the Customs Acts not otherwise expressly provided for by any other enactment.
- (2) Each of those districts shall comprise the counties or parts of counties specified in that behalf in the Schedule hereto, together with all cities, boroughs, and town districts that are within the outer boundaries of those counties or parts of counties or are bounded by those counties or parts of counties or are between those counties or any part thereof and the sea.

SCHEDULE CUSTOMS DISTRICTS

Customs Districts		Counties or Parts of Counties	Administered by
Whangarei		Mangonui, Whangaroa, Hokianga, Bay of Islands, Hobson, Whanga- rei. Otamatea	Collector of Customs, Whangarei.
Auckland		Rodney, Waitemata, Great Barrier Island, Franklin	Collector of Customs, Auckland.
Hamilton	******	Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, Matamata, Coromandel, Thames, Hauraki Plains, Piako, Ohinemuri, Otoro- hanga, Waitomo, Taumarunui	Collector of Customs, Hamilton.
Tauranga	••••	Tauranga, Whakatane, Opotiki, Rotorua, Taupo	Collector of Customs, Tauranga.
Gisborne		Waiapu, Waikoĥu, Cook	Collector of Customs, Gisborne.
Napier	******	Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Dannevirke, Waipukurau, Pata- ngata	Collector of Customs, Napier.

SCHEDULE—continued

Customs Districts	Counties or Parts of Counties	Administered by
Palmerston North	Kiwitea, Pohangina, Manawatu, Oroua, Kairanga, Horowhenua, Woodville, Pahiatua, Akitio, Eke- tahuna	Collector of Customs, Palmerston North.
Wellington	Masterton, Wairarapa South, Feather-	Collector of Customs,
Wanganui	ston, Hutt Waitotara, Waimarino, Wanganui,	Wellington. Collector of Customs,
New Plymouth	Rangitikei, Patea Clifton, Taranaki, Egmont, Ingle- wood, Stratford, Eltham, Waimate West, Hawera	Wanganui. Collector of Customs, New Plymouth.
Blenheim	Marlborough, Awatere, Kaikoura	Collector of Customs, Blenheim.
Nelson	Golden Bay, Waimea	Collector of Customs,
Greymouth	Buller, Inangahua, Grey, Westland	Nelson. Collector of Customs, Greymouth.
Christchurch	Amuri, Cheviot, Waipara, Ashley, Rangiora, Oxford, Eyre, Malvern, Paparua, Ellesmere, Ashburton, Akaroa, Heathcote, Waimairi, Mount Herbert, Wairewa, Chatham Islands	Collector of Customs, Christchurch.
Timaru	Geraldine, Levels, Waimate, Macken- zie, Waitaki	Collector of Customs, Timaru.
Dunedin	Vincent, Maniototo, Waihemo, Wai- kouaiti, Taieri, Tuapeka, Bruce, Clutha, Lake	Collector of Customs, Dunedin.
Invercargill	Fiord, Wallace, Southland, Stewart Island	Collector of Customs, Invercargill.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of November 1968.

V. W. THOMAS, Comptroller of Customs.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This notice establishes Customs Districts for administration purposes (other than the collection of beer duty and sales tax, as to which see the Beer Duty Districts Order 1968 (S.R. 1968/212) and the Sales Tax Districts Order 1968 (S.R. 1968/214)).

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 7 November 1968. This notice is administered in the Customs Department.