

THE COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES (KIRIBATI, ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES, AND ZIMBABWE) ORDER 1980

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

By His Deputy, RONALD DAVISON ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 9th day of June 1980 Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL BY HIS DEPUTY IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 2 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Commonwealth Countries (Kiribati, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Zimbabwe) Order 1980.

(2) Clause 2 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force

on the 12th day of June 1979.

(3) Clause 3 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 27th day of October 1979.

(4) Clause 4 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force

on the 18th day of April 1980.

- (5) Subject to subclauses (2) to (4) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 14th day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.
- 2. Kiribati—The First Schedule to the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977 is hereby amended by inserting, after the expression "Kenya", the expression "Kiribati".
- 3. St. Vincent and the Grenadines—The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the expression "St. Lucia" (as inserted by clause 5 of the Commonwealth Countries (Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Dominica, and St. Lucia) Order 1979), the expression "St. Vincent and the Grenadines".

4. Zimbabwe—The said Schedule is hereby further amended by adding the expression "Zimbabwe".

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect. This order adds Kiribati, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Zimbabwe to the list of countries that are independent sovereign members of the Commonwealth specified in the First Schedule to the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977. They are all added retrospectively, from 12 June 1979, 27 October 1979, and 18 April 1980, respectively.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 12 June 1980. This order is administered in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.