749 1979/123



# THE COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES (SOLOMON ISLANDS, TUVALU, DOMINICA, AND ST. LUCIA) ORDER 1979

## KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 11th day of June 1979

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 2 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

# ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Commonwealth Countries (Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Dominica, and St. Lucia) Order 1979.

(2) Clause 2 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 7th day of July 1978.

(3) Clause 3 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 1st day of October 1978.

(4) Clause  $\dot{4}$  of this order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 3rd day of November 1978.

(5) Clause 5 of this order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 22nd day of February 1979.

(6) Subject to subclauses (2) to (5) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 14th day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.

2. Solomon Islands—The First Schedule to the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977 is hereby amended by inserting, after the expression "Singapore", the expression "Solomon Islands".

3. Tuvalu—The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the expression "Trinidad and Tobago", the expression "Tuvalu". 4. Dominica—The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the expression "Cyprus", the expression "Dominica".

5. St. Lucia—The said Schedule is hereby further amended by inserting, after the expression "Papua New Guinea", the expression "St. Lucia".

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order adds the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Dominica, and St. Lucia to the list of countries that are independent sovereign members of the Commonwealth specified in the First Schedule to the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977. They are all added retroactively, from 7 July 1978, 1 October 1978, 3 November 1978, and 22 February 1979, respectively.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 14 June 1979. This order is administered in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.