

THE CANTERBURY AREA HEALTH DISTRICT ORDER 1989

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 1st day of May 1989

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) and subsections (3) and (4) of section 8 of the Area Health Boards Act 1983, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Minister of Health tendered at the request of the Canterbury Hospital Board and the Ashburton Hospital Board, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Canterbury Area Health District Order 1989.
- 2. Establishment of Canterbury Area Health District—The Canterbury Hospital District and the Ashburton Hospital District shall, on the 1st day of June 1989, become an area health district under the name of the Canterbury Area Health District.
- **3. Number of representatives of constituent districts**—The number of representatives on the Canterbury Area Health Board (established by section 6 (1) of the Area Health Boards Act 1983 for the Canterbury Area Health District) of each constituent district within the Canterbury Area Health District (not being a constituent district to which clause 4 of this order applies) shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.

- **4. Combined districts**—(1) For the purpose of the election of representatives on the Canterbury Area Health Board,—
 - (a) Amuri County, Kaikoura County, Cheviot County, and Hurunui County; and
 - (b) Mount Herbert County, Chatham Islands County, Akaroa County, Wairewa County, Heathcote County, and Lyttelton Borough; and
 - (c) Malvern County and Ellesmere County; and
 - (d) Rangiora District, Oxford County, and Kaiapoi Borough; and
 - (e) Paparua County and Riccarton Borough; and
 - (f) Ashburton County and Ashburton Borough,—

are hereby combined into combined districts.

- (2) The number of members to be elected in common as the representatives of each such combined district shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.
- 5. Principal local authorities—Where 2 or more constituent districts are combined into a combined district by clause 4 of this order, the Council of that one of them after whose name in the Schedule to this order the expression "(P)" is placed is hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authority of that combined district for the purpose of the conduct of elections within that district.

Cls. 3, 4 (2), 5 SCHEDULE

REPRESENTATION OF CONSTITUENT DISTRICTS OR COMBINED DISTRICTS ON

CANTERBURY AREA HEALTH BOARD

Constituent Districts or Combined Districts	Number of Representatives
Amuri County Kaikoura County Cheviot County Hurunui County (P)	1
Mount Herbert County Chatham Islands County Akaroa County Wairewa County Heathcote County (P) Lyttelton County	1
Malvern County Ellesmere County (P)	1
Rangiora District (P) Oxford County Kaiapoi Borough	1
Christchurch City	6

SCHEDULE—continued

REPRESENTATION OF CONSTITUENT DISTRICTS OR COMBINED DISTRICTS ON CANTERBURY AREA HEALTH BOARD—continued

Constituent Districts or Combination	ned	Number of Representatives
Paparua County (P) Riccarton Borough	}	1
Waimairi District		1
Ashburton County (P) Ashburton Borough	}	2

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order declares that the Canterbury Hospital District and the Ashburton Hospital District shall, on 1 June 1989, become an area health district under the name of the Canterbury Area Health District.

The order combines the districts of the various constituent local authorities, except Christchurch City and the Waimairi District, into 6 combined districts, and specifies in the Schedule to the order the number of representatives of each such combined district, and of Christchurch City and of the Waimairi District, on the Canterbury Area Héalth Board.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 4 May 1989. This order is administered in the Department of Health.