1982/245

1118



# THE BUILDING SOCIETIES (TRUSTEES' DEPOSITS) ORDER 1982

## DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General

# ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 22nd day of November 1982

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 63 of the Building Societies Act 1965, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

## ORDER

**1. Title and commencement**—(1) This order may be cited as the Building Societies (Trustees' Deposits) Order 1982.

(2) This order shall come into force on the day after the date of its notification in the *Gazette*.

2. Designation of certain building societies for deposits of trust funds—For the purposes of section 4 of the Trustee Act 1956 (as amended by section 139 (4) of the Building Societies Act 1965), the building societies named in the Schedule to this order are hereby designated as societies with which trustees may, subject to the limitation prescribed by section 63 (4) of the Building Societies Act 1965 (as amended by section 7 (b) of the Building Societies Amendment Act 1974), invest trust funds by way of deposit.

**3. Revocations**—The following Orders in Council are hereby revoked—

- (a) The Building Societies (Trustees' Deposits) Order 1981\*:
- (b) The Building Societies (Trustees' Deposits) Order 1981, Amendment No. 1<sup>+</sup>:

1982/245

- (c) The Building Societies (Trustees' Deposits) Order 1981, Amendment No. 2\*:
- (d) The Building Societies (Trustees' Deposits) Order 1981, Amendment No. 3<sup>+</sup>.

\*S.R. 1981/229 \*S.R. 1981/350

#### SCHEDULE

#### Societies with which Trust Funds may be Deposited

Ashburton Loan and Building Society. Ashburton Permanent Building Society. Broadlands Building Society. Countrywide Building Society. The Hastings Permanent Building and Investment Society. The Hawke's Bay Mutual Permanent Building Society. Heretaunga Permanent Building Society. Invercargill Co-operative Building Society. The Manawatu Permanent Building Society. Marac Building Society. The Napier Building Society (Permanent). Nelson Building Society. New Zealand Permanent Building Society. The Permanent Investment and Loan Association of Canterbury. The Prudential Building and Investment Society of Canterbury. Southland Building and Investment Society. United Building Society. United Building Society of Christchurch (Permanent). The Waipawa County Permanent Building and Investment Society. Wairarapa Permanent Building Society.

Wanganui Rangitikei Building Society.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order designates the building societies named in the Schedule as societies with which trustees may invest trust funds pursuant to section 4 of the Trustee Act 1956, subject to the limit of \$50,000 in respect of any one trust as prescribed by section 63 (4) of the Building Societies Act 1965.

The order consolidates the orders revoked by clause 3, and adds the name of the United Building Society (formed by the amalgamation of the Canterbury Building Society and the Northern United Building Society, both names of which have been omitted). Changes of name have been recognised, and the Permanent Building Society of Invercargill (which transferred its engagements to United) has been deleted from the list.

Regulation 10 (8) of the Building Societies Regulations 1967 (S.R. 1967/70) provides that a designated society may use the phrase "Authorised to receive deposits from trustees".

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 25 November 1982. This order is administered in the Treasury.