

### Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Regulations 2006

Silvia Cartwright, Governor-General

### Order in Council

At Wellington this 1st day of May 2006

#### Present:

Her Excellency the Governor-General in Council

Pursuant to section 55 of the Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Act 1994, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, makes the following regulations.

#### **Contents**

		Page
1	Title	2
2	Commencement	2
3	Interpretation	2
4	Antarctic Specially Managed Areas	2
5	Antarctic Specially Protected Areas	2
6	Historic Sites and Historic Monuments	2
	Schedule 1	3
	<b>Antarctic Specially Managed Areas</b>	
	Schedule 2	4
	<b>Antarctic Specially Protected Areas</b>	
	Schedule 3	6
	<b>Historic Sites and Historic Monuments</b>	

### Regulations

#### 1 Title

These regulations are the Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Regulations 2006.

#### 2 Commencement

These regulations come into force on the 28th day after the date of their notification in the *Gazette*.

### 3 Interpretation

In these regulations, unless the context otherwise requires,— Act means the Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Act 1994

**ASMA** means Antarctic Specially Managed Area **ASPA** means Antarctic Specially Protected Area.

### 4 Antarctic Specially Managed Areas

The areas specified in Schedule 1 are Antarctic Specially Managed Areas within the meaning of section 26 of the Act.

### 5 Antarctic Specially Protected Areas

The areas specified in Schedule 2 are Antarctic Specially Protected Areas within the meaning of section 26 of the Act.

### 6 Historic Sites and Historic Monuments

- (1) The Historic Site listed in Schedule 3 is an Historic Site within the meaning of section 26 of the Act.
- (2) The Historic Monument listed in Schedule 3 is an Historic Monument within the meaning of section 26 of the Act.

r 4

## Schedule 1 Antarctic Specially Managed Areas

### 1 McMurdo Dry Valleys, Southern Victoria Land: ASMA No 2, 77°S, 162°E

The boundary of the area is delineated by the following features (starting at the northwest corner and moving counter-clockwise):

the northwest tip of Allan Nunatak (76.7167°S, 159.6667°E), Carapace Nunatak (76.8833°S, 159.4°E), Mt. De Witt (77.2°S, 159.8333°E), the western edge of Horseshoe Mountain (77.5667°S, 159.95°E), Depot Nunatak (77.75°S, 160.0667°E), the southern most peak of the Lashly Mountains (77.9606°S, 159.5603°E), Mt. Kempe (78.3167°S, 162.7167°E), the Pyramid (78.35°S, 163.5°E), the east side of Heald Island (78.25°S, 163.8167°E), DeMaster Point (off the eastern end of Marshall Valley, 78.0792°S, 164.4131°E), north along the coast following the mean low tide level to the east side of Tripp Island (76.6333°S, 162.7°E), the southern edge of Fry Glacier (76.6333°S, 162.3°E), and again the northwest tip of Allan Nunatak (76.7167°S, 159.6667°E).

### 2 Cape Denison, Commonwealth Bay, George V Land: ASMA No 3, 67°00′13″S–67°00′50″S, 142°40′00.1″E–142°41′27″E

The area extends from Land's End (67°00′46″S, 142°39′24″E) in the west, along the coastline to the northern tip of the western shore of Boat Harbour (67°00′24″S, 142°39′28″E), across the mouth of Boat Harbour (in a straight north-easterly diagonal) to the northern tip of Penguin Knob (67°00′17″S, 142°39′31″E) on the eastern shore of Boat Harbour, and then along the coastline in a south-easterly direction down to John O'Groats (67°00′47″S, 142°41′27″E). The southern boundary extends in a straight line from Land's End to John O'Groats along latitude 67°00′47″S. With the exception of the boundary across the mouth of Boat Harbour, the northern coastal boundary extends to that land above the lowest tide.

## Schedule 2 Antarctic Specially Protected Areas

# 1 Litchfield Island, Arthur Harbour, Anvers Island, Palmer Archipelago, Antarctic Peninsula: ASPA No 113, 64°46′15″S, 64°05′40″W, 0.35 km²

The area encompasses all of Litchfield Island above the low tide water level, excluding all offshore islets and rocks.

### 2 Arrival Heights, Hut Point Peninsula, Ross Island: ASPA No 122

The boundary of the area extends in a straight line from Trig T510 NW over First Crater to the 150 m contour. The boundary follows this contour north to a point immediately west of Second Crater. The boundary extends east to Second Crater, the lip of which forms the NE corner of the area. The boundary then extends south in a straight line to Trig T510.

### Biscoe Point, Anvers Island, Palmer Archipelago, Antarctic Peninsula: ASPA No 139, 64°48′47″S, 63°47′41″W

The area includes all land above the low tide water level of the main island on which Biscoe Point is situated (0.53 km²), all offshore islets and rocks within 100 m of the shore of this main island, and most of the predominantly ice-free promontory 300 m to the north (0.1 km²).

The landward (eastern) boundary on the northern promontory bisects the peninsula at the point where it protrudes from Anvers Island, distinguished by a small bay cutting into the glacier in the south and a similar, although less pronounced, coastline feature in the north. The total area including the main island and the northern promontory is approximately 0.63 km<sup>2</sup>.

### 4 Svarthamaren, Mühlig-Hofmannfjella, Dronning Maud Land: ASPA No 142

Svarthamaren stretches from approximately 71°33′17″S, 5°09′12″E in the north-west to approximately 71°55′58″S, 5°15′12″E in the south-east.

The Norwegian field station Tor (located in the Svarthamaren nunatak at latitude 71°53′S, longitude 5°10′E), including a 10-metre buffer zone around the station buildings, is excluded from the Svarthamaren area. Access to the station is by the shortest route from the ice.

Mawson's Huts, Cape Denison, Commonwealth Bay, George V Land, East Antarctica: ASPA No 162

Mawson's Huts covers 4 areas. Each area consists of 1 hut and a 5-metre buffer zone extending from the perimeter of the hut. The locations of the huts are as follows—

- (a) Main Hut: 67°00′31″S, 142°39′39″E:
- (b) Transit Hut: 67°00′30″S, 142°39′42″E:
- (c) Absolute Magnetic Hut: 67°00′23″S, 142°39′48″E:
- (d) Magnetograph House: 67°00′21″S, 142°39′37″E.

### r 6 Schedule 3 Historic Sites and Historic Monuments

1 Historic Site: Cape Denison, Site No 77, 67°00′30″S, 142°39′40″E

Cape Denison, Commonwealth Bay, George V Land, including Boat Harbour and the historic artefacts contained within its waters.

2 Historic Monument: Memorial plaque, Site No 78, 71°45′08″S, 11°12′30″E

Memorial plaque at India Point, Humboldt Mountains, Wohlthat Massif, central Dronning Maud Land. The plaque was erected in memory of 3 scientists of the Geological Survey of India and a communication technician from the Indian Navy.

Diane Morcom, Clerk of the Executive Council.

### **Explanatory note**

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which come into force on the 28th day after the date of their notification in the *Gazette*, specify areas of Antarctica that, for the purposes of the Antarctica (Environmental Protection) Act 1994, are—

- Antarctic Specially Managed Areas:
- Antarctic Specially Protected Areas:
- Historic Sites:
- Historic Monuments.

These regulations give effect to Measures 1 to 3 (2004) of the twenty-seventh Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (Cape Town).

Issue	d under the autho	ority of th	ne Acts ar	nd Regulations	Publication	Act 1989.
Date	of notification in	Gazette:	4 May 2	006.		

These regulations are administered in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.