

THE ASHBURTON LICENSING TRUST ORDER 1982

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 23rd day of August 1982

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL.

PURSUANT to section 4 of the Licensing Trusts Act 1949, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Ashburton Licensing Trust Order 1982.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 14th day after the date of its notification in the Gazette.
- **2. Division of Trust district into wards**—For the purposes of elections of members of the Trust, the Ashburton Licensing Trust District (as defined in the Second Schedule to the Licensing Trusts Act 1949) is hereby divided into 2 wards, being the wards named and described in the Schedule to this notice.
- **3. Elective members of Trust**—The Trust shall continue to consist of 6 elective members, of whom—
 - (a) Four shall be elected for the Ashburton Borough Ward:
 - (b) Two shall be elected for the Ashburton County Ward.
- **4. Terms of office of elective members**—The terms of office of 3 members of the Trust elected at the first general election of members held pursuant to section 11a (1) of the Licensing Trusts Act 1949 shall expire

in accordance with section 5 (3A) of that Act on the day appointed pursuant to that Act for the second election of members after the making of this order.

5. Saving—Notwithstanding anything in the foregoing provisions of this order, the members of the Trust holding office on the date of the making of this order shall, unless they sooner vacate their offices pursuant to any other enactment, continue to hold office until their successors are elected at the first general election of members held after the making of this order.

SCHEDULE

Wards of Ashburton Licensing Trust District

Ashburton Borough Ward

All that area of the Trust district comprising the Borough of Ashburton.

Ashburton County Ward

All the Trust district other than the area comprising the Borough of Ashburton.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order divides the Ashburton Licensing Trust District into 2 wards, as described in the Schedule to the order, for the purposes of elections of members of the Trust. It also specifies the number of members to be elected for each ward, and makes provision for rotation of office.

The first election under the new system is to be held on a date to be fixed by notice in the Gazette. In the meantime the existing members will retain office.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 26 August 1982. This order is administered in the Department of Justice.