

# THE AUCKLAND AREA HEALTH DISTRICT ORDER 1988

# PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 7th day of November 1988

## Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) and subsections (3) and (4) of section 8 of the Area Health Boards Act 1983, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Minister of Health tendered at the request of the Auckland Hospital Board, and by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Auckland Area Health District Order 1988.
- 2. Establishment of Auckland Area Health District—The Auckland Hospital District shall, on the 1st day of December 1988, become an area health district under the name of the Auckland Area Health District.
- **3. Combined districts**—(1) For the purpose of the election of representatives on the Auckland Area Health Board (established by section 6 (1) of the Area Health Boards Act 1983 for the Auckland Area Health District),—
  - (a) Auckland City and Waiheke County; and
  - (b) Newmarket Borough, Mount Albert City, Mount Eden Borough, and Mount Roskill Borough; and

- (c) One Tree Hill Borough, Mount Wellington Borough, Onehunga Borough, and Ellerslie Borough; and
- (d) Manukau City, Otahuhu Borough, Howick Borough, and Papatoetoe City; and
- (e) Franklin County, Pukekohe Borough, Waiuku Borough, Tuakau Borough, and Papakura City; and
- (f) Takapuna City, Devonport Borough, Northcote Borough, Birkenhead City, and East Coast Bays City; and
- (g) Waitemata City, Glen Eden Borough, Henderson Borough, and New Lynn Borough; and
- (h) Rodney County, Great Barrier Island County, and Helensville Borough,—

are hereby combined into combined districts.

- (2) The number of members to be elected in common as the representatives of each such combined district shall be as specified in the Schedule to this order.
- **4. Principal local authorities**—Where 2 or more constituent districts are combined into a combined district by clause 3 of this order, the Council of that one of them after whose name in the Schedule to this order the expression "(P)" is placed is hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authority of that combined district for the purpose of the conduct of elections within that district.

SCHEDULE Cls. 3 (2), 4
Representation of Combined Districts on Auckland Area Health
Board

Districts		Number of Representatives
Auckland City (P) Waiheke County	}	2
Newmarket Borough Mount Albert City Mount Eden Borough Mount Roskill Borough (P)		1
One Tree Hill Borough Mount Wellington Borough (P) Onehunga Borough Ellerslie Borough	}	1
Manukau City (P) Otahuhu Borough Howick Borough Papatoetoe City		4
Franklin County Pukekohe Borough Waiuku Borough Tuakau Borough Papakura City (P)		1

# SCHEDULE—continued Representation of Combined Districts on Auckland Area Health Board—continued

Districts		Number of Representatives
Takapuna City (P) Devonport Borough Northcote Borough Birkenhead City East Coast Bays City		2
Waitemata City (P) Glen Eden Borough Henderson Borough New Lynn Borough		2
Rodney County (P) Great Barrier Island County Helensville Borough	}	1

C. J. HILL, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

The order declares that the Auckland Hospital Board District shall, on 1 December 1988, become an area health district under the name of the Auckland Area Health District.

The order combines the districts of the various constituent local authorities into 8 combined districts, and specifies in the Schedule to the order the number of representatives of each such combined district on the Auckland Area Health Board.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 10 November 1988. This order is administered in the Department of Health.