Supplementary Order Paper.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL.

Wednesday, the 5th Day of August, 1914.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL BILL.

Hon. Sir G. McLean to move the following amendments:—

To recommit clause 9, in order to omit from subclause (1) the words "and as to the appointment of persons of the Maori race as members of the Council."

To recommit clause 20, in order to omit the clause.

Hon. Sir G. McLean, in Committee, to move to add the following new clause and Schedule:—

PART IV.

40. (1.) In addition to the members of the Council elected under Part III of this Act, there shall be three members of the Council elected to represent therein the inhabitants of New Zealand of the Maori race.

(2.) The members of the Council so to be elected shall be elected in every electoral district hereinafter mentioned by the votes of the Maoris inhabiting that district who are qualified to vote at an

election under Part IV of the principal Act.

(3.) For the purpose of the election of members under this Part of this Act New Zealand is hereby divided into three Maori electoral divisions, comprising respectively the electoral districts or parts of the electoral districts specified in the second column of the Fourth Schedule hereto, to be known respectively as the First Maori Electoral Division, the Second Maori Electoral Division, and the Third Maori Electoral Division.

(4.) Such election shall be held on the day appointed for the first elections of Maori members of the House of Representatives next after the first day of January, nineteen hundred and sixteen,

and simultaneously with that election.

(5.) Every person who is qualified to be a Maori member of the House of Representatives shall be qualified to be elected under this section, save that no person shall be nominated both for the Council and the House at the same election.

(6.) The election shall be held in the same manner in all respects as is prescribed by the principal Act with respect to Maori members of the House of Representatives, and all the provisions of Part IV of the principal Act shall, with the necessary modifications, apply to such election.

(7.) Every member so elected shall continue to hold his seat until the dissolution or expiry of the Parliament which takes place next after the expiration of five years from the date of his election

and no longer:

Provided that if the Governor, under the powers conferred on him by section *seven* hereof, dissolves both the Council and the House simultaneously the seat of every member elected under this section shall be vacated by, and at the date of, the Proclamation of such dissolution.

FOURTH SCHEDULE.

MAORI ELECTORAL DIVISIONS FOR LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ELECTIONS.

Names of Electoral Division	Electoral Districts or Parts comprised in Electoral Divisions.
First Maori Electora Division	The Northern Maori Electoral District (as constituted under Part IV of the principal Act). So much of the Western Maori Electoral District (as constituted under Part IV of the principal Act) as lies to the north of a boundary commencing at White Cliffs; thence by a straight line to the southernmost part of the Township of Taumarunui; thence by a straight line to the southernmost part of the Township of Tokaanu, such straight line being produced to meet the existing boundary between the said Western Maori Electoral District and the Eastern Maori Electoral District (as constituted under Part IV of the principal Act).
Second Maori Electora Division Third Maori Electora	The said Eastern Maori Electoral District and the balance of the said Western Maori Electoral District.
Division Division	under Part IV of the principal Act).