[As reported from the Local Bills Committee.]

House of Representatives, 31st August, 1917.

6. Election of new Board.

7. Vesting foreshore.8. Issue of Crown grants or certificates of title

Hon. Mr. Herries.

TAURANGA HARBOUR ACT AMENDMENT AND FORE-SHORE VESTING.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

Title
1. Short Title.

Special Act.
 Interpretation.

Harbour district. Repeal. to Board. 5. Constitution of Board. Schedule. A BILL INTITULED An Act to extend the Tauranga Harbour District and vest Part of the Foreshore in the Board. Title. BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand 5 in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:-1. This Act may be cited as the Tauranga Harbour Act Amend-Short Title. ment and Foreshore Vesting Act, 1917. 2. This Act shall be deemed to be a special Act within the Special Act. 10 meaning of the Harbours Amendment Act, 1910. 3. In this Act, if not inconsistent with the context,— Interpretation. "The Board" means the Tauranga Harbour Board: Struck out. "The Chairman '' means the Chairman of the Tauranga Harbour Board: "The harbour district" means the Tauranga Harbour District as constituted by this Act: "The Tauranga Harbour" means the harbour as defined in the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912. 4. (1.) The Tauranga Harbour District shall be is hereby Harbour district. extended so as to comprise the Borough and County of Tauranga and the Te Puke Town District, the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane, the counties County of Rotorua and East Taupo, and the Rotorua Town District. Struck out. 25 the Borough of Waihi, and the Waitekauri Riding of the County of Ohinemuri. 5. (2.) Section four of the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912, is Repeal. hereby repealed. No. 7-2.

Struck out.

6. The reference in the First Schedule of the Harbours Amendment Act, 1910, to the Thames Harbour Board is hereby amended by altering the word "nine" in the first column to "eight"; and by adding, after the word "Ohinemuri" in the third column, the words "excluding the electors of the Waitekauri Riding of the said county," and by deleting the words "one by the electors of the Borough of Waihi."

5

Constitution of Board.

7. 5. (1.) The Board shall consist of fourteen ten members, of whom seven five shall form a quorum, and such members shall be 10 appointed and elected as follows:-

Two One members to be elected by the ratepayers electors of the Borough of Tauranga, and two members to be elected by the ratepayers electors of the constituent-districts of the Waimapu, Te Puna, and Katikati Ridings of the 15 County of Tauranga;

Three Two members to be elected by the ratepayers electors of the constituent districts of the Maketu and Te Puke Ridings of the County of Tauranga;

One member to be elected by the rate payers and the electors of 20 the Te Puke Town District;

One member to be elected by the ratepayers electors of the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane;

One member to be elected by the ratepayers electors of the combined district County of Rotorua and East Taupo 25 Counties:

One member to be elected by the ratepayers of the Rotorua Town District:

Struck out.

One member to be elected by the combined districts of Waihil 30 Borough and the Waitekauri Riding of the County of Ohinemuri; '

members to be nominated appointed by the Governor-General. in Council; and

(2.) Section five of the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912, is hereby amended-accordingly repealed.

8. 6. (1.) The Governor-General in Council shall appoint a day for the first election of the elective members of the newly constituted Board, and shall make all such regulations as he thinks fit necessary for the such election. of the representative of the combined district of Retorna and East Taupo Counties, and of the combined district of Wahi Borough and Waitekauri Riding of the County of Ohinemuri, and for the

40

compilation of a roll-therefor; and In the absence of such regulations, New.

or in so far as they do not extend, the provisions of the Harbours 45 Amendment Act, 1910, and the regulations thereunder, relating to the election of members of Harbour Boards, shall apply to elections under this section.

(2.) The Governor-General in Council shall fix a time and place for the first meeting of the newly constituted Board, and until such

Election of new Board.

meeting the members of the existing Board shall continue to hold office and may exercise all the powers of the Board.

(3.) The members appointed by the Governor-General shall come into office on the day appointed under this section for the first meeting of the Board.

(4.) Section six of the Tauranga Harbour Act. 1912, is hereby

repealed.

9. 7. On the passing of this Act the whole of the foreshore of the vesting toreshore 10 Tauranga Harbour as described in the Schedule hereto shall vest in the Tauranga Harbour Board, subject to the right of resumption by the Crown hereinafter mentioned.

5/1

10. 8. The Governor-General is hereby empowered to sign a Issue of Crown Warrant or Warrants authorizing the issue of Crown grants or certifi- grants or certificates 15 cates of title, as the case may require, for the said foreshore and lands, of title to Board. or any part thereof, to and in favour of the Board, subject to and provided that any portion of the said foreshore so vested as aforesaid may be resumed by the Crown at any time for any public work or public purpose without compensation, except that compensation 20 shall be payable and assessed in manner provided by the Public Works Act, 1908, for wharves, buildings, or permanent improvements made and effected by the Board or any lessee of on any of said the lands so resumed.

SCHEDULE.

ALL the foreshore of the Tauranga Harbour, commencing at the Katikati entrance Schedule. opposite North Head, and thence following Matakana Island to the Tauranga entrance opposite the Beacon Rock as shown on the plan deposited in the office of the Chief Surveyor, at Auckland, as No. 19549 (blue), and thereon edged blue.

By Authority: Marcus F. Marks, Government Printer, Wellington.-1917