Hon. Mr McAlpine

SELWYN PLANTATION BOARD AMENDMENT

[LOCAL]

ANALYSIS

Title

15

1. Short Title 2. Constitution of Board

A BILL INTITULED

An Act to amend the Selwyn Plantation Board Act 1953

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, 5 as follows:

- 1. Short Title—This Act may be cited as the Selwyn Plantation Board Amendment Act 1963, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Selwyn Plantation Board Act 1953 (hereinafter referred to as the principal Act).
- 2. Constitution of Board—(1) The principal Act is hereby amended by repealing subsection (2) of section 3, and substituting the following subsection:

"(2) The Board shall consist of:

- "(a) Four members appointed by the Malvern County Council:
 - "(b) Two members appointed by the Ellesmere County Council:

No. 48-1

- "(c) One member appointed by the Halswell County Council:
- "(d) One member appointed by the Heathcote County Council:
- "(e) One member appointed by the Paparua County 5 Council:
- "(f) One member appointed by the Tawera County Council:
- "(g) One member appointed by the Waimairi County Council:
- "(h) One member appointed by the Christchurch City Council."

(2) Section 3 of the principal Act, as amended by section 7 of the Local Authorities (Members' Contracts) Act 1954, is hereby further amended by adding the following subsections: 15

"(5) When the whole district of a constituent authority is merged by the Governor-General in the district of another constituent authority as part of a final scheme under the Local Government Commission Act 1961, the number of members of the Board appointed by the constituent authority whose 20 district is enlarged by the merger shall be increased by the number of members previously appointed by the constituent authority for the district so merged.

"(6) Where a constituent authority is dissolved by the Governor-General as part of a final scheme under the Local 25 Government Commission Act 1961, every member of the Board appointed by the constituent authority so dissolved shall, unless his office is vacated under section 6 of this Act, continue to hold office until any alteration of the constitution of the Board made necessary or advisable by the dissolution of the 30 constituent authority is effected by amendment to this Act, but not in any case for a longer period than twelve months after effect is given to the final scheme under section 22 of the Local Government Commission Act 1961."