(Hon. Mr. Bathgate.)

Ruapuke Annexation.

ANALYSIS.

Title. Preamble 1. Short Title. 2. Islands of Ruapuke and Solander, and all islands within the 160th and 170th degrees

of East longitude, and North of the 47th parallel of South latitude, annexed to Otago. 3. Laws in force in that part of Otago which was formerly Southland, to be in force in islands annexed by this Act.

A BILL INTITULED

AN ACT to Annex to the Province of Otago certain Title. Islands lying near thereto and not yet annexed.

THEREAS by "The Stewart's Island Annexation Act, 1863," Preamble. Stewart's Island was annexed to the Province of Southland : And whereas by "The Otago and Southland Union Act, 1870," the Provinces of Otago and Southland were united into one Province called

5 Otago: And whereas the Islands of Ruapuke and Solander and certain other islands in New Zealand are near to and may be advantageously annexed to the said Province of Otago:

BE IT THEREFORE ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, 10 as follows :-

1. The Short Title of this Act shall be "The Islands of Ruapuke, Short Title. Solander, and other Islands Annexation Act, 1873."

2. The Islands of Ruapuke, Solander, and all other islands in Islands of Ruapuke New Zealand not hereinbefore annexed to the Province of Otago, and all islands within the 15 situate South of Otago and off the coasts of Otago and Stewart's Island, 160th and 170th lying between the 165th and 170th degrees of East longitude, and degrees of East longitude, and North North of the 47th parallel of South latitude, are hereby annexed to of the 47th parallel the Province of Otago, and shall henceforth for all purposes whatsoever of South latitude, annexed to Otago. be deemed and taken to be within the boundaries and a part of the 20 Province of Otago.

3. All laws and ordinances in force immediately before the passing Laws in force in that of this Act within that portion of the Province of Otago which before part of Otago which before was formerly Souththe union of the Provinces of Otago and Southland was included land, to be in force within the Province of Southland shall, on the passing of this Act, be in islands annexed by this Act.

25 in force in those parts of the Colony hereby annexed to the said Province of Otago.

No. 6-1.

44.