Mr. Field.

OTAKI COUNTY.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

3. Otaki Road District abolished.

Schedules.

Jurisdiction of Otaki County Council.

Title. 1. Short Title. 2. Otaki County constituted.

A BILL INTITULED

AN ACT to constitute the Otaki County.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as 5 follows :-

1. This Act may be cited as the Otaki County Act, 1911.

2. (1.) The Otaki County is hereby constituted, comprising that Otaki County portion of the Horowhenua and Hutt Counties, particularly described in the First Schedule hereto, which at the date of the passing of

1() this Act comprised the Otaki and Te Horo Ridings of the said Horowhenua County and the Whareroa Riding of the said Hutt County.

(2.) The boundaries of the said Horowhenua County are hereby altered as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

(3.) The boundaries of the said Hutt County are hereby altered 15 as described in the *Third* Schedule hereto.

3. The Otaki Road District is hereby abolished, and shall be Otaki Road District deemed to be merged in the Otaki County as constituted by this Act; and the provisions of section thirty-six of the Counties Act,

- 20 1908, shall be deemed to apply on the date of the coming into operation of this Act as if the said road district had merged into the said Otaki County under the provisions of the Counties Act. 1908.
- 4. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no Jurisdiction of 25 local authority other than the said Otaki County Council shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under any Act:
- Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the 30Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or town district.

No. 21-1.

Short Title.

Title.

constituted.

abolished.

Otaki County Council.

Schedules.

Otaki County.

SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE OTAKI COUNTY.

ALL that area, situate in the Wellington Land District, bounded as follows: Commencing at a point on the sea-coast at the south-western corner of the Ohan No. 3 Block; thence easterly by a straight line formed by the southern boundary of the Ohau No. 3 Block, and by the continuation of such southern boundary to the point of intersection with the western boundary of the Wairarapa South County; thence southerly and easterly along the south-eastern boundary of the Wairarapa South County, and generally southerly along the western boundary of the Wairarapa South County, to the north-eastern corner of the Hutt County; thence westerly along the northern boundary of the said Hutt County to a point where it intersects the eastern boundary of Section 2, Block XVI, Kaitawa Survey District; thence southerly along the said eastern boundary of the said Section 2, and the eastern boundaries of Section 3, Block XVI, Kaitawa Survey District, and of Sections 9, 10, 11, and 12, Block III, Akatarawa Survey District, to the north-eastern boundary of Section 6, Block III; thence generally westerly along the southern boundary of the said Section 6; thence northerly along the western boundary of the said Section 6 to the north-eastern corner of Section 5, Block III; thence westerly along the northern boundary of the said Section 5 to the south-eastern corner of Section 403. Block II, Akatarawa Survey District; thence north-westerly along the north-eastern boundary of the said Section 403 and of Sections 404 and 407 to the north-eastern corner of the said Section 407; thence south-westerly along the northern boundary of the said Section 407 and of Section 406, Block II, Akatarawa Survey District to the western boundary of the said Section 406; thence southerly along part of the said western boundary to the north-eastern corner of Section 5, Block II, Akatarawa Survey District; thence westerly along the northern boundary of the said Section 5 to the eastern boundary of Section 15, Block I, Akatarawa Survey District; thence southerly along the eastern boundary and westerly along the southern boundary of the said Section 15 to the point of intersection with the eastern boundary of the forest reserve in Blocks I, V, and IX, Akatarawa Survey District; thence southerly along the said eastern boundary of the said forest reserve to the northern boundary of Section 2, Block IX, Akatarawa Survey District; thence westerly along the northern boundaries of the said Section 2, and of Sections 6, 5, 4, 3, and 2 of Block VII, Paikakariki Survey District, to the south-eastern corner of Section 64, Block VII, Paikakariki Survey District; thence northerly along the western boundary of the said forest reserve to a point where the said western boundary is intersected by a straight line formed by the continuation in an easterly direction of the southern boundary of the Tunupo Block; thence easterly along the said straight line to the easternmost corner of the said Tunupo Block; thence north-westerly along the northern boundary of the said Tunupo Block to the seacoast; thence generally north-easterly along the sea-coast to the point of commencement.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE HOROWHENUA COUNTY.

ALL that area, situate in the Wellington Land District, bounded as follows: Commencing at the south-western corner of the Ohau No. 3 Block; thence northerly along the sea-coast to the mouth of the Manawatu River; thence easterly, northerly, and easterly along the said river to the point where the southern boundary of the Kairanga County intersects the said river; thence easterly along the southern boundary of the said Kairanga County to the point of intersection of the said Kairanga County with the Eketahuna County; thence southerly, south-westerly, and generally southerly along the western boundaries of the said Eketahuna County and the Mauriceville, Masterton, and Wairarapa South Counties to the northern boundary of the Otaki County, more particularly described in the *First* Schedule hereto; thence along such northern boundary to the starting-point.

THIRD SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE HUTT COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded as follows: Commencing on the sea-coast at the north-western corner of the Tunupo Block; thence easterly, southerly, easterly, northerly, generally north-easterly, northerly, and easterly, by the Otaki County, more particularly described in the *First* Schedule hereto, to the summit of the Tararua Range; thence southerly along the summit of the Tararua and Rimutaka Ranges to Cape Turakirae; thence westerly by the sea and northerly by Port Nicholson to the south-western corner of the Borough of Petone; thence south-westerly by Port Nicholson and generally northerly by the Makara County to the Porirua Harbour; thence along the Porirua Harbour and the sea in a northerly direction to the point of commencement: excluding, however, the Boroughs of Lower Hutt, Petone, and Eastbourne.

By Authority : JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.-1911.

3