Hon. Sir R. H. Rhodes.

MOUNT HUTT COUNTY.

[LOCAL BILL]

ANALYSIS.

	Title.	
1.	Short Title.	4. Boundaries of Ashburton County amended.
2,	Mount Hutt Road District abolished.	5. Jurisdiction of county. Water-races.
3.	Mount Hutt County constituted.	Schedules.
	-	

A BILL INTITULED

AN ACT to sever the Mount Hutt Road District from the Ashburton Title. County and to constitute in lieu of the Mount Hutt Road District a Separate County to be called "The Mount Hutt County."

5

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows :-

1. This may be cited as the Mount Hutt County Act, 1920.

2. The Mount Hutt Road District is hereby abolished and shall Mount Hutt Road 10 be deemed to be merged in the Mount Hutt County, and the District abolianced. provisions of section thirty-six of the Counties Act, 1908, shall apply accordingly.

3. That portion of the Ashburton County described in the First Mount Hutt County 15 Schedule hereto, being that portion of the Ashburton County known constituted. as the Mount Hutt Road District, is hereby constituted a separate county by the name of "The Mount Hutt County."

4. The boundaries of the said Ashburton County are hereby Boundaries of altered as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

- 5. (1.) From and after the coming into operation of this Act no **2**0 local authority other than the Council of the Mount Hutt County shall, within the limits of the said county, except as hereinafter provided, exercise any jurisdiction or authority whatsoever over any roads or water-races, or over or in relation to any matter or thing
- 25 whatsoever, in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon County Councils under any Act:

Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the Governor-General to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough, town, or other district.

Short Title.

Ashburton County amended.

Jurisdiction of county.

2

Water-races.

(2.) Nothing in this section shall apply to or affect the waterraces, as defined by the Water-supply Act, 1908, at present situated in the Mount Hutt Road District and now vested in the Ashburton County Council, but the said water-races shall continue to be vested in that Council.

(3.) Nothing in this section shall affect the right of the Ashburton County Council on the constitution of the Mount Hutt County to an appointment under paragraph (d) of section fifteen of the Counties Act, 1908, of its liability for the interest and sinkingfund of any loan raised by the Ashburton County Council for the 10 construction, maintenance, or repair of the said water-races in the Mount Hutt County.

(4.) All such water-races shall be constructed, repaired, and maintained by the Ashburton County Council at the expense of the Mount Hutt and Ashburton County Councils in such proportions as 15 the said Councils agree on, or, in case they cannot agree, then in such proportions as the Minister of Public Works determines.

(5.) In case the Ashburton County Council fails at any time to maintain and keep the said water-races in good repair the Mount Hutt County Council, at any time after seven days' notice given to 20 the Ashburton County Council requiring it to make the necessary repairs, may do, execute, and carry out all works, acts, or things that it may think necessary for that purpose, and may recover from the Ashburton County Council all costs and expenses incurred in so doing, and all costs, charges, and expenses incurred by it through the neglect of the Ashburton County Council to maintain and repair as aforesaid.

(6:) All moneys accruing from the said water-races shall be divided between the county funds of the Ashburton and Mount Hutt County Councils, in such proportions as those Councils agree on, or, 30 in case they cannot agree, then in such proportions as the Minister of Public Works determines.

(7.) All special orders, district subdivisions, warrants, maps, regulations, notices, and by-laws made, prepared, given, and held by the Mount Hutt Road Board and the Ashburton County Council 35 under and in pursuance of the Water-supply Act, 1908, the Ashburton County Council Empowering Act, 1882, the Ashburton County Council Empowering Act Amendment Act, 1901, the Ashburton Water-supply Act, 1904, the Counties Act, 1908, the Public Works Act, 1908, or any other Act amending or consolidating same or passed in lieu thereof, or any other Act relating to and affecting water-races or anything whatsoever in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon Road Boards or County Councils under any Act, shall continue in force within the Mount Hutt County, and shall enure therein for the purposes of this Act and of the said Acts until lawfully altered or 45 revoked, and shall be- enforceable by the Mount Hutt County Council.

SCHEDULES.

Schedules.

3

FIRST SCHEDULE.

THE MOUNT HUTT COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Provincial District of Canterbury which is bounded on the north-east by a line along the middle of the Bakaia River from Lake Stream to a point opposite the middle of the Barrhill-Lauriston Road; on the south-east and south-west by the South Rakaia Road District to Rural Section 34170; thence towards the south-west and south-east by the Upper Ashburton Road District to a point in the middle of the north branch of the Ashburton River opposite the northwest boundary of Rural Section 34165; thence on the south-west by a line along the middle of that branch to the southernmost point of Run No. 119; thence on the south-east by a straight line south-westwards through Run No. 102 to the western boundary of that run; thence generally in a northerly direction through Run No. 115 to a point on the Swin River; thence north-westerly along that river; thence again north-westerly by a straight line through Runs Nos. 115 and 118 to the Smite River; thence in a north-easterly, north-westerly, and south-westerly direction through Run No. 118 to the eastern boundary of Run No. 117; thence following the eastern boundary of that run and Lake Stream to the commencing-point.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

ASHBURTON COUNTY.

Bounded towards the north by the Selwyn County from the source of the Rakaia River to Lake Stream; thence southerly up the middle of Lake Stream to a point on the western boundary of Run No. 118; thence north-easterly, south-easterly, and south-westerly to the Smite River; thence south-easterly by a straight line through Runs Nos. 118 and 115 to the Swin River; thence south-easterly along that river; thence generally in a southerly direction through Run No. 115 to a point on the western boundary of Run No. 102; thence north-easterly by a straight line through Run No. 102 to the southernmost point of Run No. 119; thence south-easterly by a line along the middle of the north branch of the Ashburton River to a point opposite the north-west boundary of Rural Section 34165; thence north-easterly, southeasterly, and again north-easterly, following the boundaries of the Upper Ashburton and South Rakaia Road Districts, to a point in the middle of the Rakaia River opposite the centre of the Lauriston and Barrhill Road ; thence bounded towards the north-east by the Selwyn County to the ocean; and towards the south-east by the ocean from the mouth of the Rakaia River to the mouth of the Rangitata River; thence by the centre of that river to Forest Creek; thence by the centre of that creek to its source in the Two-thumb Range; thence by a line along the summit of that range to the summit of the Southern Alps near Mount Tyndall; and thence by a line along the summit of that range to the summit of the Southern Alps and a line to the source of the Rakaia River near Whitcombe Pass to the starting-point.

By Authority : MARCUS F. MARKS, Government Printer, Wellington.-1920.