Mr. Hardy.

MOUNT HUTT COUNTY.

[Local Bill]

ANALYSIS.

Title. 1. Short Title.

5

2. Coming into operation.

3. Mount Hutt Road District abolished.

4. Mount Hutt Road District constituted a separate county.

Boundaries of Ashburton County altered.

6. Jurisdiction of Mount Hutt County Council. 7. Special orders, by-laws, &c., to remain in

force. 8. Powers conferred on Mount Hutt County Council.

A BILL INTITULED

An Act to sever the Mount Hutt Road District from the Ash- Title. burton County, and to constitute in lieu of the Mount Hutt Road District a Separate County, to be called the Mount Hutt County.

Schedules.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:-

1. This Act may be cited as the Mount Hutt County Act, Short Title. 10 1911.

2. This Act shall come into operation on the first day of April, Coming into nineteen hundred and twelve.

3. The Mount Hutt Road District is hereby abolished and shall Mount Hutt Road be deemed to be merged in the Mount Hutt County, and the pro- District abolished. 15 visions of section thirty-six of the Counties Act, 1908, shall apply accordingly.

4. That portion of the Ashburton County described in the Mount Hutt Road First Schedule hereto, being that portion of the Ashburton County District constituted known as the Mount Hutt Road District, is hereby constituted a 20 separate county by the name of "The Mount Hutt County."

5. The boundaries of the said Ashburton County are hereby Boundaries of altered as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

6. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the Council of the Mount Hutt County shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority whatsoever over any roads or water-races or over or in relation to any matter or thing whatsoever in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon County Councils under any Act:

Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the 30 Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough, town, or other district.

operation.

a separate county.

Ashburton County altered.

Jurisdiction of Mount Hutt County Special orders, by-laws, &c., to remain in force.

7. All special orders, districts, subdivisions, warrants, maps, regulations, notices, by-laws, and rates declared, made, prepared, given, and held by the Mount Hutt Road Board or by the Ashburton County Council under and in pursuance of the Water-supply Act, 1908, the Ashburton County Council Empowering Act, 1882, the Ashburton County Council Empowering Act Amendment Act, 1901, the Ashburton Water-supply Act, 1904, the Counties Act, 1908, the Public Works Act, 1908, or any other Act amending or consolidating same or passed in lieu thereof, or any other Act relating to and affecting water-races vested by this Act in the Mount 10 Hutt County, or under or in pursuance of any other Act and relating to any other matter or thing whatsoever in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon Road Boards or County Councils under any Act, and which at the time of the coming into operation hereof are in force, shall continue in force within the Mount Hutt County, 15 and shall enure therein for the purposes of this Act and of the said Acts until lawfully altered or revoked.

Powers conferred on Mount Hutt County Council.

8. The powers conferred upon and the provisions affecting the Ashburton County Council by the Ashburton County Council Empowering Act, 1882, the Ashburton County Council Empowering 20 Act Amendment Act, 1901, the Ashburton Water-supply Act, 1904, or any other Act amending or consolidating same or passed in lieu thereof, or any other Act, in so far as the said Acts affect the area comprised in the Mount Hutt Riding of the Ashburton County, shall be available to and be deemed to have been or to be con- 25 ferred upon the Council of the Mount Hutt County in the same manner and to the same extent as if the said Acts had been specially passed for the benefit of the Mount Hutt County Council instead of for the benefit of the Ashburton County Council; and, where necessary, the words "Mount Hutt County Council," or 30 "Mount Hutt County" shall be read in lieu of the words "Ashburton County Council" or "Ashburton County" respectively in the said Acts. Nothing in this section shall affect the powers conferred upon the Ashburton County Council by the said Acts.

Schedules.

SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

THE MOUNT HUTT COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Provincial District of Canterbury which is bounded on the north-east by a line along the middle of the River Rakaia from Lake Stream to a point opposite the middle of the Barrhill–Lauriston Road; on the south-east and south-west by the South Rakaia Road District to Rural Section 34170; thence towards the south-west and south-east by the Upper Ashburton Road District to a point in the middle of the north branch of the River Ashburton opposite the north-west boundary of Rural Section 34165; thence on the south-west by a line along the middle of that branch to the southernmost point of Run No. 119; thence on the south-east by a straight line south-westwards through Run No. 102 to the western boundary of that run; thence generally in a northerly direction through Run No. 115 to a point on the River Swin; thence north-westerly along that river; thence again north-westerly by a straight line through Runs Nos. 115 and 118 to the River Smite; thence in a north-easterly, north-westerly and south-westerly direction through Run No. 118 to the eastern boundary of Run No. 117; thence following the eastern boundary of that run and Lake Stream to the commencing-point.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

ASHBURTON COUNTY.

BOUNDED towards the north by the Selwyn County from the source of the River Rakaia to Lake Stream; thence southerly up the middle of Lake Stream to a point on the western boundary of Run No. 118: thence north-easterly, south-easterly, and south-westerly to the River Smite; thence south-easterly by a straight line through Runs Nos. 118 and 115 to the River Swin; thence south-easterly along that river; thence generally in a southerly direction through Run No. 115 to a point on the western boundary of Run No. 102; thence north-easterly by a straight line through Run No. 102 to the southernmost point of Run No. 119; thence south-easterly by a line along the middle of the north branch of the River Ashburton to a point opposite the north-west boundary of Rural Section 34165; thence north-easterly, southeasterly, and again north-easterly, following the boundaries of the Upper Ashburton and South Rakaia Road Districts, to a point in the middle of the Rakaia River opposite the centre of the Lauriston and Barrhill Road; thence bounded towards the north-east by the Selwyn County to the ocean, and towards the south-east by the ocean from the mouth of the River Rakaia to the mouth of the River Rangitata; thence by the centre of that river to Forest Creek; thence by the centre of that creek to its source in the Two Thumb Range; thence by a line along the summit of that range to the summit of the Southern Alps near Mount Tyndall; and thence by a line along the summit of that range to the summit of the Southern Alps and a line to the source of the River Rakaia, near Whitcome Pass, to the starting-point.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington .-- 1911.