[As reported from the Local Bills Committee.]

House of Representatives, 5th October, 1906.

Mr. Herries.

MAKETU COUNTY.

[Local Bill.]

ANALYSIS.

- 1. Short Title.
- 2. Date of Act coming into force.
- 3. County constituted.

4. Name of county.

5. Te Puke Road District abolished.

A BILL INTITULED

An Act to constitute the Maketu Riding and the Te Puke Riding Title. in the Tauranga County a New County.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand 5 in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:-

1. The Short Title of this Act is "The Maketu County Act, Short Title, 1906,"

2. This Act shall come into force on the first day of April, Date of Act coming 10 one thousand nine hundred and seven.

3. A county is hereby constituted, called the Maketu County, County constituted. comprising the Maketu Riding of Tauranga County and the Te Puke Ridings of Tauranga County, having the boundaries particularly described in the First Schedule hereto; and the boundaries of Tau-15 ranga County are altered accordingly, as particularly described in the Second Schedule hereto.

4. The County hereby constituted shall be called "Maketu-County."

5. 4. The Te Puke Road District is hereby abolished, and shall Te Puke Road be deemed to be merged in the Maketu County constituted by this Act; District abolished.

20 and the provisions of section fifty-seven of "The Counties Act, 1886," shall apply to such merger.

SCHEDULES.

Schedules.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Boundaries of Maketu County.

ALL that area of land in the Auckland Land District, containing an area of 170,000 acres or thereabouts, bounded towards the east by the western boundary of the Whakatane County; thence on towards the south by the northern boundary of the Rotorua County to the Otanewainuku Trig. Station; thence en towards the west by the western boundary of the Waoku No. 2 Block and the Waimapu River to the Tauranga Harbour, and thence following the centre of the harbour to the sea; en and thence towards the north-east by the sea to the western boundary of the Whakatane County.

No. 10-2.

New.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Boundaries of Tauranga County.

ALL that area in the Auckland Land District, bounded towards the north-west by a right line from the summit of Te Aroha Mountain to the mouth of the Waihi River; thence towards the north-east by the ocean to the entrance of the Tauranga Harbour; thence towards the east generally by the Maketu County, as described in the First Schedule hereto, to the northern boundary of the Rotorua County; thence towards the south by the said Rotorua County; and towards the south-west by the Piako County to the place of commencement.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.—1906.